Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Athletics George H.W. Bush Lifetime of Leadership Award

2001 Recipients

John Akers '56 - former member of the Yale hockey team and CEO of IBM

Nicholas Brady '52 - United States Secretary of the Treasury during Reagan's term and was captain of Yale's 1952 squash team that was ranked 1st in the nation

Joseph Cullman '35 - former varsity wrestler and became President, Chairman and CEO of Philip Morris

Calvin Hill '69 - former member of the Yale football and track team and played professional football with the Dallas Cowboys, Washington Redskins and Cleveland Browns.

John Lee '58 - former captain of the Yale basketball team who turned down the New York Knicks to become a business consultant

Vernon R. Loucks, Jr. '57 - former CEO of Baxter International and founder of Aethena Group, member of the Yale football team

Elizabeth Munson '78 - Partner of White & Case, President of the Rockefeller Trust Co. and former captain of Yale's squash team

Kwaku Ohene-Frempong '70 - ex-captain of indoor and outdoor track and former member of the Ghana Olympic track team, now serves as a Professor of Pediatrics

James Rockefeller '24 - ex-captain of the Gold Medal winning Heavyweight Crew in the 1924 Olympic competition in Paris former President and Chairman of CitiBank of New York



2003 Recipients

William Donaldson '53 - Chairman of the Security and Exchange Commission and former Yale hockey player

Richard Gelb '45 - a former Yale track star and Chairman Emeritus of Bristol Myers Squibb Company

James Duderstadt '64 - an ex-Yale gridiron player who became President of the University of Michigan

John Downey '51 - a former Bulldog football and wrestling standout who became a Judge Trial Referee after being held prisoner by the Chinese Government for 21 years as a CIA agent

Lisa Brummel '81 - the corporate Vice President for Microsoft's Home and Retail Division and a former Eli volleyball, basketball and softball player



2005 Recipients

William S. Beinecke '36 - former Chairman of the Board for The Sperry & Hutchinson Company and an ex-Yale football player

Roland W. Betts '68 - a member of the Yale Corporation who was the majority owner of the Texas Rangers Baseball Club and is currently chairman of Chelsea Piers L.P

Edgar M. Cullman '40 - former chairman of General Cigar and a managing partner of Culbro Corporation

Kristaps Jurriss Keggi M.D. '55 - a Yale fencer who became one of the world's most renowned orthopedic surgeons and teaches at Yale

Susan D. Wellington '81 - an All-American swimmer who became president of U.S. Beverage, the Quaker Oats Company division of Pepsi



2007 Recipients

Richard P. Cooley '44 -Bulldog squash player, CEO of Seafirst Corporation

Charles B. Johnson '54 - Yale football player, CEO of Franklin Resources Incorporated,

Anne F. Keating '77 - Field hockey, basketball and lacrosse player at Yale, Managing Director of Korn Ferry International

James McNerney '71 - Baseball player at Yale, Chairman, CEO and President of Boeing Corporation

Kurt L. Schmoke '71 - Lacrosse and football standout at Yale, former mayor of Baltimore, dean of Howard University School of Law



2009 Recipients

Kenneth L. Davis, M.D. '69 - Varsity letter winner in Track & Field, President & CEO of The Mount Sinai Medical Center

John R. "Jack" Ford '72 - Three time letter winner of Yale football, Television news personality specializing in legal commentary

Stephen D. Greenberg '70 - Captain of Yale Men's Soccer & Baseball Teams, Managing Director of Allen & Company

Carol Roberts ‘ 81 - Senior Vice President, Industrial Packaging for International Paper

Henry B Schacht '56 - Managing Director, Senior Advisor Warburg Pincus

Special Bush Award 2009

Carm Cozza - Legendary Yale football coach



2011 Recipients

Harris Ashton ’54 - Three time letter winner of Yale football, Chairman, President and CEO of the General Host Corp

Benjamin Balme ’61 - Two time letter winner of Yale football, Orthopedic Surgeon

Nancy Cahill ’79 - Former swimmer and softball player at Yale, Principal with Holman, Cahill, Garrett, Oliver & Anderson Law Office

Donald Dell ’60 - Captain of the undefeated 1959-60 Yale tennis team, President of Blue Entertainment Sports & Television

Christopher Getman ’64 - Keeper of the Yale mascot, Handsome Dan, for nearly 25 years, President of Soundview Capital Management Corporation

Special Bush Award 2011

Jack Embersits ‘58 - Captained the 1957 football team to a 54-0 victory over Harvard, Founding member of the Bush Leadership Awards Committee



2013 Recipients

Bruce Alexander ’65 – Lightweight Rower; Vice President for Yale’s Office of New Haven and State Affairs

Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn ’56 – Heavyweight Rower; World renowned surgeon and heart health expert

Richard Lyon ’45 – Swimmer; Navy Seal and Rear Admiral in the US Navy

Jerome Kenney ’63 – Football player; Founder of Blackrock Capital

Patricia Melton ’84 – Track & Field star; Chair of the New Haven Promise; national education expert