Barrows Named College Sailor of the Year; Morris Collects Another All-American Nod

Thomas Barrows and Blair Belling. (Photo by Jared Shenson.)
Thomas Barrows and Blair Belling. (Photo by Jared Shenson.)

Co-ed Skippers and Crews Brings Bulldog All-American Count to Six

MADISON, Wisc.—The Wisconsin weather did not agree with the Bulldogs but the awards received at the year end ICSA banquet gave the Bulldogs a bit of wind in their sails to take into the summer. A total of six Bulldogs earned All-American honors including Thomas Barrows '10 and sophomore Joseph Morris.

Barrows has had a busy spring filled with awards. At the end of the New England season, Barrows was named First Team Skipper for the fourth year as well as taking home Sailor of the Year honors and capturing the senior award which is voted on by the seniors on the New England circuit. On Class Day, Barrows became the first sailor to win the William Neely Mallory Award, which is given to the best male athlete in the graduating class. His awards yield for 2010 was far from complete. At the banquet following Nationals, Barrows achieved his fourth All-American nod, continuing the recent tradition of having a Yale sailor achieve this honor in every year of collegiate competition. He also gained the one accolade he had yet to achieve when he was awarded the Everett B. Morris Trophy, which is given to the college sailor of the year. Barrows is the first Bulldog to win the award since Stephen Benjamin '78 in 1978. After achieving greatness for the Bulldogs, Barrows will be sorely missed in competition. However, he will be returning to New Haven as an assistant coach in the fall, which should be a great boost for the Bulldogs.

Morris is continuing on much the same track as Barrows just two years behind. He collected his second All-American nod after a stellar season in which he was also named First Team Skipper All New England for the second year in a row. Morris continually finds himself among older skippers, garnering the same awards despite his younger age. Last year he was the only freshman to collect All-American honors. This season Morris shined in B division for the Bulldogs with new crew Marla Menninger '10. Their lack of time on the water together did not hinder them at all as they won their division at numerous regattas. As captain, Morris will continue to lead the team this fall when he will move up to the vacancy left by Barrows in A division.

Both Barrows' and Morris' crews, junior Blair Belling and Menninger, earned All-American honors. Skipper Sarah Lihan '10 and junior crew Elizabeth Brim, two integral members of the team racing team, also were named All-Americans. To read more about the lovely ladies of the Bulldog team who brought home awards, see the release on the Women's Sailing homepage.

Report filed by Margot Benedict '12, Yale Sports Publicity