Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 1 Bulldogs Sail District Championship

Cullman and Belling at Brown
Cullman and Belling at Brown

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The No. 1 Yale coed sailing team will take its first step towards qualifying for the Gill/ICSA Dinghy Championships by sailing in the New England Dinghy Championship at Brown this weekend. Yale will also send teams to the Oberg Trophy hosted by Boston University and the Short Beach Invitational, which will be sailed at home.

The New England Dinghy Championship is the first regatta that the Bulldogs will sail to begin the qualifying process for the national championships. This year, New England's will be held at Brown, the same location that Schell Trophy was held at this fall. The Bulldogs are obviously very comfortable with the Brown venue, winning the Schell Trophy by 31 points. Just like the top eight teams from the Schell qualified for the Atlantic Coast Championships, the top eight teams from the New England Dinghy Championship will qualify for the ICSA Semi-Finals held in Norfolk, Va.

Skippers senior Cameron Cullman, junior captain Chris Segerblom and sophomore Graham Landy will travel to the New England Dinghy Championship this weekend with crews senior Heather May, juniors Eugenia Custo Greig, Marlena Fauer and Will Feldman, and freshman Charlotte Belling. Brown is using an additional fleet of boats this weekend so that both A division and B division will be racing on the water at once.

At the Oberg Trophy hosted by Boston University, an all-female team will compete for Yale on the coed circuit. Senior skippers Emily Billing and Claire Dennis along will crews junior Amanda Salvesen and sophomore Sarah Smith will represent the Bulldogs this weekend. The exact team won the President's Trophy at Boston University last weekend, showing their comfort with the Charles River.

At the McNay Family Sailing Center in Branford, Conn., two more Yale teams will sail at the Short Beach Invitation in home waters. One team will consist of skippers junior Max Nickbarg and freshman Marly Isler with freshmen crews Emily Johnson and Sanam Rastegar. The other Yale team will be skippered by senior Zachary Foreman and freshman Eric Anderson with crews freshmen Henry Lewis and Megan Valentine.

All racing will begin at 9:30 a.m. Follow results at


Report filed by Katherine Gaumond '15, Yale Sports Publicity