Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No 2. Bulldogs Open Season at Home

Fauer and Gaumond (Photo Credit: John Payne)
Fauer and Gaumond (Photo Credit: John Payne)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The No. 2 Yale coed sailing team will begin its fall season sailing the Harry Anderson Trophy at the McNay Family Sailing Center. The team will also compete in the Pine Trophy held at the US Coast Guard Academy. Coming off their national championship last spring and two weeks of pre-season training, the Bulldogs are primed and ready to sail.


The Bulldogs are returning many of their top sailors from last year's national championship squad. Senior captain and All-American honorable mention Chris Segerblom will be ready to lead the team through another successful season. The team is also returning junior All-American skippers Graham Landy and Morgan Kiss, along with women's team captain and All-American honorable mention, senior skipper Marlena Fauer. Another senior skipper and crucial member of the sloop team, Max Nickbarg will be looking to provide leadership in a variety of styles of racing. Other returning skippers include sophomores Eric Anderson and Marly Isler.


Showing their versatility, senior Will Feldman, junior Urska Kosir and sophomore Henry Lewis will all return to the team being able to fill the roles of both crew and skipper.


In the front of the boat, Yale will be returning top talent as well with highly experienced crews. Seniors Eugenia Custo Greig and Amanda Salvesen will lead the squad of younger crews including juniors Katherine Gaumond and Sarah Smith, and sophomores Charlotte Belling, Emily Johnson, Sanam Rastegar and Megan Valentine.


Adding to the team is the new class of 2017. The seven members of the freshmen class come from across the United States. Incoming skippers are freshmen Ian Barrows (St. Thomas, USVI) and Mitchell Kiss (Holland, Mich.). Together, the two of them hold five high school national championship titles in both singlehanded and doublehanded racing, as well as numerous top results in international racing.


The new crews have a variety of experience as well. Natalya Doris (Miami, Fla.) has been crewing in college style FJ's and 420's throughout her high school career, placing fourth in A division at the high school national fleet race championships her senior year. Chandler Gregoire (New York, N.Y.) grew up sailing Sunfish in the waters of Fire Island, N.Y., and has already been making a quick transition to collegiate racing. Meredith Megarry (Collingwood, Ont.) raced International 420's as a member of the Canadian Youth National Sailing Team. Clara Robertson (Rye, N.Y.) and Isabelle Rossi de Leon (Honolulu, Hawaii) both demonstrated great leadership during their high school careers. Robertson started the high school sailing team at her local school and Rossi de Leon captained her varsity team her senior year.


With this new talent, the Bulldogs are ready to begin another successful fall season. Sailing at the Harry Anderson Trophy will be skippers Fauer and Landy. The Harry Anderson Trophy is a notoriously breezy regatta, so a large team of crews will be necessary to create optimal weight combinations. Representing the Bulldogs will be Custo Greig, Feldman, Gaumond and Smith. This event will also be the inaugural regatta for Yale's new fleet of FJ's, which will allow both A and B division to race at the same time, making this year's event more competitive than ever.


The Pine Trophy is the first sloop regatta of the year. A fleet race sailed in the US Coast Guard Academy's fleet of Colgate 26's, the Pine will begin the qualifying process for the ICSA Match Race National Championship held in November. Skippering Yale's team will be Segerblom, with crew work by Anderson, Isler and Nickbarg.


All racing will begin at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday. Follow results at


Report filed by Katherine Gaumond '15, Yale Sports Publicity