Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 2 Bulldogs Sail For Ivy Honors

Kiss and Johnson practicing in Yale's new Z420s
Kiss and Johnson practicing in Yale's new Z420s

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – After team racing all spring, the Bulldogs return to fleet racing this weekend. The No. 2 Yale coed sailing team will compete at home for collegiate sailing's equivalent to Ivy League championships at the Owen, Mosbacher and Knapp Trophies. The team will also sail the Thompson Trophy at Coast Guard. The three-division fleet race is the major intersectional in New England this weekend.  


The Owen, Mosbacher and Knapp Trophies form one regatta that represents three separate historic championships. Named for the inventor of the Tech dinghy George Owen, the Owen Trophy is awarded to the overall winner of the event. The Mosbacher Trophy, named for the Dartmouth sailor who went on to defend two America's Cups, is awarded to the top Ivy League finisher at the event, since sailing does not have an official Ivy League Championship. Thirdly, the Knapp Trophy is awarded to the top finisher among the big-three Ivy League schools: Harvard, Princeton and Yale. Yale has won all three trophies for the past two years, and is looking to defend the titles this weekend.


The event rotates locations, and this year it will by hosted at Yale. This regatta will be the first event sailed in Yale's new fleet of Z420s, as well as the new FJs from this past fall. The sailors have been practicing with the Z420s this week, enjoying the planing ability of the lighter, faster boats in breeze.


Sailing A division for the Bulldogs will be junior skipper Graham Landy with crews senior Will Feldman and junior Katherine Gaumond. B division will be sailed by skippers senior Chris Segerblom and freshman Ian Barrows with crews senior Amanda Salvesen, sophomore Charlotte Belling and freshman Meredith Megarry.


Headed back to the Thames River after last weekend, Yale will also compete for the Thompson Trophy at Coast Guard. The regatta will be sailed in traditional collegiate 420s and FJs, with three divisions rotating through the two fleets. Senior Max Nickbarg, sophomore Eric Anderson and freshman Mitchell Kiss will skipper with crews junior Sarah Smith, sophomores Emily Johnson and Sanam Rastegar and freshman Chandler Gregoire. These sailors hope to use the knowledge they have gained from competing previously on the Thames River in past weekends to help them understand the geographically tactical venue.


All racing will start at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday morning. Follow results live at


Report filed by Katherine Gaumond '15, Yale Sports Publicity