Six Bulldogs Awarded All New England Honors

Landy and Gaumond
Landy and Gaumond

BRANFORD, Conn. – After the New England Dinghy Championships, the NEISA awards committee announced the first and second All-New England teams, along with other individual New England awards. Yale's success during the fall and spring season showed, with six Bulldogs earning honors.


Freshman Meredith Megarry was awarded second-team All-NEISA crew, with junior Katherine Gaumond and sophomore Charlotte Belling making first-team All-NEISA crews.


For the skippers, senior Chris Segerblom, junior Graham Landy and freshman Ian Barrows were all awarded to first-team All-NEISA.


For the individual awards, Barrows also won New England Rookie of the Year. Barrows had numerous top-five finishes at intersectionals this year, qualified for the ICSA Men's Singlehanded National Championships and was one of the few freshman skippers on the New England team racing circuit.


Gaumond won the Babineau Crew of the Year award, and Landy won New England Skipper of the Year. These two juniors had a very successful 2013-2014 season, winning A division at six of the nine fleet racing intersectionals they sailed.


Overall, Yale was the top represented school in the New England awards.


Report filed by Katherine Gaumond '15, Yale Sports Publicity