Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Eight Bulldogs Named All-New England Sailors

Joe Morris.
Joe Morris.

May 31, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association (NEISA) had named eight members of the Bulldog coed and women's sailing teams to the All-New England teams. The Bulldogs, who have qualified for all three of the Spring National Championship events and had student-athletes qualify for two of the three fall National Championship events, were also recognized with Sailor and Rookie of the Year awards.

Three skippers from the No. 1 Bulldog women's sailing team were named to the All-New England ranks. Seniors Jane Macky (Auckland, New Zealand/Epsom Girls Grammar school) and Kate Hagemann (Naples, Fla., Marion, Mass./Naples High)were both named to the All-New England First Team as skippers. Macky made also made the team as a sophomore and junior while Hagemann was named to the team as a junior. Junior Sarah Lihan (Fort Lauderdale, Fla./St. Thomas Aquinas High)was honored for the first time as a Second Team All-New England skipper.

Two crews from the women's sailing team were also honored. Junior captain Marla Menninger (Costa Mesa, Calif./Newport Harbor High), who sails with Macky, and sophomore Elizabeth Brim (New York, N.Y./Hotchkiss School), who sails with Hagemann, were both named to the All-New England team as crews. Menninger was also honored as a freshman and sophomore while Brim was honored as a freshman. Brim, Hagemann, Macky and Menninger were all named All-Americans last year as well.

Macky also earned the distinction of being named the 2009 Sailor of the Year for New England. Macky represented the bulldogs at the Singlehanded National Championships this past year, where she placed third, and has been a strong force in A division at women's events all season. She won A division at the Women's Atlantic Coast Championships, perhaps the most competitive women's regatta of the year.

Three student-athletes that compete on the coed sailing team were also honored. Junior captain Thomas Barrows (St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands/Antilles School) and freshman Joseph Morris (Annapolis, Md./Severn School) earned recognition as First Team All-New England skippers. Morris' crew, Grace Becton (Deer Isle, Maine/Deer Isle-Stonington High), also earned recognition as an All-New England Crew selection. Barrows has been an All-American in his freshman and sophomore seasons and represented the U.S. Virgin Islands in the 2008 Olympic Games and Becton was an All-American as a sophomore. Becton was an All-American as a sophomore.

Morris also was named the Rookie of the Year. Morris has mainly sailed B division this year, but has also turned in a number of strong finishes in A division, including third-place finishes at the Admiral's Cup and Charleston Spring Intersectionls, a fourth-place finish at the Hoyt Trophy and a sixth-place result at the Captain Hurst Bowl. He has been very solid in his normal B division role as well, winning the division at the ICSA National Western Semifinal. Morris is a 2008 graduate of the Severn School, where he dominated A division at the 2008 High School National Championships to lead Severn School to the national title.

Report filed by Caleb Dorfman '09, Yale Sports Publicity