Breslow Wins Stewart Award

Breslow Wins Stewart Award

Former Yale Pitcher Honored Today

OAKLAND, Calif. – Oakland A's pitcher Craig Breslow '02 has been named the recipient of the 2010 Dave Stewart Community Service Award, which is given annually to an A's player in recognition of charitable contributions throughout Northern California and across the nation.

Dave Stewart presented Breslow with the award prior today's game against the Chicago White Sox in a special on-field ceremony.

Over the past year, Breslow has raised close to $150,000 for childhood cancer research and education through fundraising events associated with his "Strike 3 Foundation." These fundraising events include the foundation's annual First Pitch Gala held each year in Connecticut, a number of smaller networking events during the off-season, a wine tasting art event in San Francisco in July, a blackjack fundraiser in the Bay Area in August and a luncheon at Yankee Stadium this past month. In addition, 10% of the proceeds from the A's 2010 Community Fund Golf Classic were donated to the Strike 3 Foundation.

Breslow founded the Strike 3 Foundation in 2008 to help find a cure for childhood cancer, and to honor his sister Lesley, a survivor of pediatric thyroid cancer for over 15 years. Since its creation, the Strike 3 Foundation has raised over $220,000 in an effort to heighten awareness, mobilize support, and raise funds for childhood cancer research. The foundation's Third Annual First Pitch Gala, which raises funds for Connecticut pediatric oncology and treatment centers, is set for Nov. 13 in Stamford, Conn. For more information, please visit

In addition, Breslow has been a strong supporter of the A's community relations and charity endeavors. He attends annual A's events such as MUG Root Beer Float Day, Dinner on the Diamond and the A's Community Fund Golf Classic. Breslow also spends time visiting hundreds of children each year at the Oakland Children's Hospital and Research Center, Connecticut Children's Medical Center, and the Yale-New Haven Children's Hospital. Also each season, he hosts children from Oakland Children's Hospital to an A's game, giving them a once-in-a-lifetime, on-field batting practice visit and tour of the A's clubhouse.

The Dave Stewart Community Service Award originated in 1996 in honor of Stewart's many years of community service in the Bay Area. Throughout the years, Stewart has been involved in many non-profit organizations including the Oakland Boys & Girls Club and Team-Up for Youth, a program that supports healthy development for young people living in low income communities through after school sports and physical activity programs.

Previous Dave Stewart Community Service Award Winners:

1996    Ernie Young

1997    Scott Spiezio

1998    Tom Candiotti

1999    Art Howe

2000    Jason Giambi

2001    Terrence Long

2002    Tim Hudson

2003    Scott Hatteberg

2004    Eric Chavez

2005    Barry Zito

2006    Mark Kotsay

2007    Mark Ellis

2008    Dana Eveland

2009    Dallas Braden

        Kurt Suzuki

2010    Craig Breslow