Steve Leondis ’83 Inducted Into AHEPA Athletic Hall of Fame

Steve Leondis ’83 Inducted Into AHEPA Athletic Hall of Fame

Honored By the American Hellenic Progressive Association

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Steve Leondis '83, who is Yale's fourth all-time leading scorer with 1,540 career points, was inducted into the American Hellenic Progressive Association Athletic Hall of Fame at the 90th AHEPA Supreme Convention in late July in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Leondis enjoyed an outstanding career for the Bulldogs. He was a three-time second team All-Ivy selection and was the 1980 Ivy League Rookie of the Year. In 102 career games, he averaged 15.1 points, the ninth best career scoring average in school history. His 624 career field goals made are the third most in Yale history. As a senior in 1983, he finished third in the Ivy League in scoring (18.3 ppg.) and won the team's Stan Smith Senior Award.

James Jones, The Joel E. Smilow Class of 1954 Head Coach of Men's Basketball, was on hand for Leondis' induction.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2012 also included U.S. Olympic Decathlete Tom Pappas, Cincinnati college basketball player Dean Lampros, UConn women's soccer coach Len Tsantiris and St. Mary's College basketball player Nick Pappageorge.

"The 2012 Induction Class is comprised of athletes who have excelled to the highest levels of their competition," said Supreme President Dr. Grossomanides. "In doing so, they have also remained true to their Hellenic heritage. We congratulate and welcome them into the AHEPA Athletic Hall of Fame."

The AHEPA Hellenic Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1974, and includes more than 125 inductees. Annually, candidates are nominated by members of the Order of AHEPA, and after a thorough vetting process, are ultimately selected in balloting by 20 Hall of Fame Selection Committee members, who encompass a broad cross-section of engaged voters, geographically and experience-wise; their selection is based not only on athletic accomplishments, but also character and civic and personal service. The 2012 distinguished class joins such stellar prior inductees as: Harry Agganis, Alex Karras, Milt Pappas, Pete Sampras, Eric Karros, Gene Rossides, and Bob Costas.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity