Harvard Tops Yale in 144th Yale-Harvard Regatta

Harvard Tops Yale in 144th Yale-Harvard Regatta

Bulldogs Swept in Annual Event

Photo Gallery -- Buy Regatta Photos On-line! 

NEW LONDON, Conn. - Rough, cold water and steady, hard wind set the stage for Saturday's 144th running of the Yale-Harvard Regatta on the Thames River in New London, Conn. The Bulldogs got solid performances from all three of its boat, but fell short of a strong Crimson squad in the varsity, junior varsity and freshman races.

"Our guys did a good job of fighting," said Yale Head Coach John Pescatore, "but the [Harvard] boats were just a little bit better today."

In the varsity race, the Crimson led from the opening sprint and built up an open water lead that they would not relinquish. The Bulldogs made several strong pushes over the four-mile course from Bartlett's Cove to the Gold Star Bridge, but could not overcome the Cantabs' fast start. Harvard posted a time if 21:25.6 to retain the Sexton Cup besting Yale's time of 21:45.1. Rebecca Burgoyne-Allen served as coxswain of the Yale varsity oarsmen: stroke Duncan Logie, James Tormey, Pieter Morgan, Benjamin Ortiz, Henry Cole, Andrew Collard, Derek Johnson and bowman Lucas Spielfogel.

"Clearly [Harvard] was a very fast crew today," said Collard, the senior captain of the Bulldogs. "There were points where we felt we were rowing well, but it just wasn't enough."

The Bulldogs opening sprint pushed them to an early lead in the junior varsity race, but the two vessels quickly drew to a dead heat. Harvard grabbed a ¼ length advantage at the half-mile mark and extended its cushion to a full length through one mile of the three-mile race. The Crimson would gain an open water lead over the next final, before Yale unleashed an intense final push. The Bulldogs regained contact during the charge, but could not overtake the Cantabs, who crossed the finish line for a 2.2 second victory. Harvard clocked in at 16:16.9 in the race, while Yale finished in 16:19.1. Coxswain Francesca Yi, stroke George Moran, Keir Evans, Spyridon Mastroyannis, Marcos Carzolio, Matthew Ramlow, Antonio Sirianni, Nathaniel Reeve and bowman Erik Woelber comprised the Yale junior varsity crew.

In the freshman race, the Crimson held a slight advantage from the starting line. The Bulldogs hung close with Harvard, and the lead never grew to more than a few seconds over the first mile of the two-mile race. Yale began to make a move at around the 2,000-meter mark, but an Eli oarsman "caught a crab" (lost control of his oar) as the Crimson pulled away for an eventual eight-second victory. Harvard registered a time of 10:44.2 seconds to claim the New London Cup, as compared to a 10:52.2 second showing by the Bulldogs. Yale's freshman crew consisted for coxswain Emma McBurney, stroke Thomas Dethlefs, Joseph Alagna, Benjamin Bowles, Jonathan Martin, Patrick O'Malley, Robert Macmillan, Keith Pfirrman and bowman Django Broer-Hellermann.

The Yale-Harvard Regatta, which was first held in 1852 on Lake Winnipesaukee, was the nation's first collegiate sporting event. The four-mile varsity race is the longest race in the Western hemisphere. As overall Regatta champions, Harvard claims the Hoyt C. Pease and Robert Chappell, Jr. Trophy for the second consecutive year.

report filed by Drew M. Kingsley, Yale Sports Publicity