Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Walker Elected Lightweight Captain

David Walker
David Walker

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale lightweights, whose varsity eight recently won the IRA national championship, have elected David Walker as their captain for the 2011-2012 season. Walker, who rowed in the six-seat of the varsity eight this spring, called his election an "honor."

"I look forward to continuing our positive momentum into next season," said Walker. "I know that this position comes with great responsibility and I look forward to stepping up to the challenge next year with the help of my teammates."

Walker added that he intends to use the 2010-2011 captaincy of Andrew Hakanson as a guide during his tenure. "I am particularly grateful for the strong example of leadership set by [Hakanson]," said Walker. "He passionately led the team to a great racing season and I look forward to following in his footsteps."

After a successful rowing career at Deerfield Academy, Walker began his career at Yale as a member of the class of 2011. As a freshman, the Greenwich, Conn., native was the 2-seat of the undefeated first freshman eight, which captured the Kilpatrick Cup at Eastern Sprints with a two-second victory over Georgetown. As a sophomore, Walker completed another undefeated regular season as the bow seat of the third varsity before finishing third at Eastern Sprints.

In 2009, Walker took the year off from school and rowing, serving as the Director of Marketing at, a New Haven-based startup founded by former lightweights Rich Littlehale '10 and Bob Casey '11. Walker credits his year off with giving him a newfound commitment to rowing, and he returned as a member of the Y150 for the 2010-2011 season, earning a seat in the varsity eight in the fall. In the spring, Walker sat in the six-seat of the varsity, finishing third at Eastern Sprints and winning the IRA national championship.

Walker's captaincy will officially begin after the varsity eight's trip to Henley-on-Thames, England, for the Henley Royal Regatta. Yale will race in the Temple Challenge Cup, an event for student eights last won by the Bulldogs in 2000, from June 29 to July 3.

Report Filed by Yale Sports Publicity