Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Elis Win Crew of the Year, Coach of the Year

Andrew Hakanson and Colin Corcoran
Andrew Hakanson and Colin Corcoran

Clean sweep lightweight division awards

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – On the heels of its IRA Championship winning season, the Yale men's lightweight crew team has scooped both the Crew of the Year and Coach of the Year awards from the Eastern College Athletic Conference.

In the voting for the award, the Elis' varsity eight picked up five votes – four more than Yale's own freshman eight and Dartmouth's varsity eight, which came in equal second place with one vote apiece.

It was a similar result for head coach Andy Card, who in his 22nd year at the helm of the Bulldogs picked up the IRA Coach of the Year Award. Since taking over as coach, Card has propelled the Bulldogs to five IRA title victories, with this past season's victory the team's first since 2005.

Of course, it was no easy win at this year's IRA competition. A photo finish between the Bulldogs and Ivy League rivals Harvard meant a prolonged wait for both teams as the result was released. The eventual verdict – a .02 second win to Yale – capped off a successful season that also saw the Elis snag third place at the May 15 Eastern Sprints and wins in the Johnson, Joy and Dodge Cups.