Varga Earns First-Team All-Ivy

Varga Earns First-Team All-Ivy

6 Bulldogs Get League Honors

PRINCETON, N.J.Tyler Varga (Kitchner, Ont.), the Football Subdivision Championship leader in all-purpose yardage who was named team most valuable player last night, was named 2012 first-team All-Ivy League. The candidate for Ivy player of the year and All-America honors is one of six Yale players to earn all-league honors.

Five of the six recognized Bulldogs play on offense, including three linemen. It was the first All-Ivy recognition for each of them.

Varga was Yale only first-team pick.  Senior RT Roy Collins (Carbondale, Ill.) was selected to the second unit while the honorable mentions were junior LT Wes Gavin (San Diego, Calif.), junior C John Oppenheimer (Menlo Park, Calif.), senior RB Mordecai Cargill (Cleveland, Ohio) and senior CB Collin Bibb (San Antonio, Texas).

Varga, a sophomore and the youngest player on the offensive first team, is one of only two underclassmen on that unit. He earned top league honors despite missing two Ivy games. He went over 100 rushing yards in five of his eight games and averaged 116.9 per game (13th in FCS) and 5.5 per carry for the season with 935 total yards. A standout kickoff return man, he averaged 194.2 all-purpose yards and earned second-team Ivy honors as a return specialist. He and Anthony Gaffney (DB, RS) of Princeton were the only players to garner two All-Ivy spots.

The top Bulldog is a candidate for the Bushnell Cup, the league's offensive (and defensive) player of the year. Finalists for the awards are announced on Nov. 27 with the winners named on Dec. 3.

Collins, Gavin and Oppenheimer opened the holes for Varga and Cargill and helped the Blue beat league champion Penn while averaging 184 team rushing yards for the season. Cargill ran for 574 yards and had a 4.5 average this fall.

Bibb led the Elis with 48 solo tackles (64 overall) and three interceptions, including a pair of picks against Princeton.






Nathan Bernstein, Brown (Sr., OL)

Cole Hooper, Brown (Sr., OL)

*J.C. Tretter, Cornell (Sr., OL)

Rob Bathe, Dartmouth (Sr., OL)

John Collins, Harvard (Sr., OL)

Jack Holuba, Harvard (Sr., OL)

Joe Bonadies, Penn (Sr., OL)

Colton Chapple, Harvard (Sr., QB)

Marcorus Garrett, Columbia (Jr., RB)

*Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard (Sr., H-Back)

Treavor Scales, Harvard (Sr., RB)

Tyler Varga, Yale (So., RB)

*Luke Taker, Cornell (Sr., WR)

Michael Reilly, Dartmouth (Sr., WR)

*Cameron Brate, Harvard (Jr., TE)



Josh Martin, Columbia (Sr., DL)

Zach Hodges, Harvard (So., DL)

Brandon Copeland, Penn (Sr., DL)

*Mike Catapano, Princeton (Sr., DL)

*Caraun Reid, Princeton (Sr., DL)

Stephen Zambetti, Brown (Sr., LB)

Michael Runger, Dartmouth (Jr., LB)

*Josh Boyd, Harvard (Sr., LB)

Daniel Davis, Penn (So., LB)

*A.J. Cruz, Brown (Sr., DB)

Garrett Waggoner, Dartmouth (Sr., DB)

Sebastian Jaskowski, Penn (Jr., DB)

Anthony Gaffney, Princeton (Fr., DB & RS)

David Mothander, Harvard (Jr., PK)

Jacob Dombrowski, Harvard (Sr., P)

Scott Lopano, Penn (Sr., P)




Anthony Fabiano, Harvard (So., OL)

Chris Bush, Penn (Sr., OL)

Michael Piniciotti, Penn (Sr., OL)

Spenser Huston, Princeton (So., OL)

Roy Collins, Yale (Sr., OT)

Jeff Mathews, Cornell (Jr., QB)

Dominick Pierre, Dartmouth (Jr., RB)

Lyle Marsh, Penn (Sr., RB)

Tellef Lundevall, Brown (Sr., WR)

Grant Gellatly, Cornell (Jr., WR)

Connor Scott, Penn (Jr., WR)

Roman Wilson, Princeton (Jr., WR)

Mark Hayes, Princeton (Sr., TE)



Ross Walthall, Brown (Sr., DL)

Michael Yules, Brown (Sr., DL)

Teddy Reed, Dartmouth (Sr., DL)

John Lyon, Harvard (Sr., DL)

Nnamdi Obukwelu, Harvard (Sr., DL)

Zach Olinger, Columbia (Jr., LB)

Bronson Green, Dartmouth (Jr., LB)

Alexander Norman, Harvard (Sr., LB)

Andrew Starks, Princeton (Sr., LB)

Emery Polley, Brown (Jr., DB)

Norman Hayes, Harvard (So., DB)

Chris Splinter, Harvard (Jr., DB)

Dave Twamley, Penn (Sr., DB)

Dan Wilk, Penn (Jr., DB)

Alexander Norocea, Brown (Jr., PK)

Joe Cloud, Princeton (Sr., P)

A.J. Cruz, Brown (Sr., RS)

Tyler Varga, Yale (So., RS)




Daniel Austin, Brown (Jr., OL)

Patrick Lahey, Dartmouth (Sr., OL)

Wes Gavin, Yale (Jr., OL)

John Oppenheimer, Yale (Jr., C)

Billy Ragone, Penn (Sr., QB)

Mordecai Cargill, Yale (Sr., RB)

Ryan McManus, Dartmouth (So., WR)



Grant Sickle, Harvard (Sr., DL)

Adewole Oyalowo, Brown (Jr., LB)

Mike Waller, Columbia (Sr., LB)

Brett Buehler, Cornell (Jr., LB)

Bobby Schneider, Harvard (Sr., LB)

Tim Kingsbury, Princeton (Sr., LB)

D.J. Monroe, Harvard (Sr., DB)

Phil Bhaya, Princeton (Jr., DB)

Collin Bibb, Yale (Sr., DB)

Connor Loftus, Penn (So., PK)


* Unanimous Selection



Dalyn Williams, Dartmouth

filed by Steve Conn, Sports Publicity Director
image (by Wesley Thorpe) of Varga receiving the Ted Blair Award for team MVP