Oluokun Earns National Award

Foyesade Oluokun. (photo by Jack Warhola)
Foyesade Oluokun. (photo by Jack Warhola)

Yale DB Named To All-Frosh Team

PHILADELPHIA, PA. — The Class of 2017 is a very talented one for the Yale Football program, so it was no surprise that one more award has come the way of one of its best, Foye Oluokun. The defensive back from St. Louis, Mo., has been named to the College Sports Journal 2013 Football Championship Subdivision All-Freshman Team.  

Oluokun, who played both corner and safety last fall, was a second-team All-Ivy League selection who had more solo tackles (44) than any rookie in the league. He earned one of the team's freshman MVP awards after starting all 10 games and finished with 59 overall stops and four pass break-ups.

The former John Burroughs High School star earned both Ivy League Defensive Player of the Week and Ivy Rookie of the Week when he made a dozen solo tackles and 13 overall in a win over Brown at Yale Bowl in November. That season-best output also garnered him collegesportsmadness.com national honors.


2013 College Sports Journal FCS All-Freshman Team


First-Team Defense


Javancy Jones, Defensive End, Jackson State

JeMarcus Marshall, Defensive End, Northwestern State

Austin Black, Defensive Tackle, Southeast Missouri State

Robert Torgerson, Defensive Tackle, Southern Utah

John Law, Linebacker, Appalachian State

Christophe Mulumba, Linebacker, Maine

James Rentz, Linebacker, Sacred Heart

Gage Steele, Linebacker, James Madison

Michael Jones, Cornerback, North Carolina Central

Foyesade Oluokun, Cornerback, Yale

Trey Robinson, Safety, Furman

Jameel Smith, Safety, Youngstown State


First-Team Offense


Eli Jenkins, Jacksonville State, Quarterback

R. J. Noel, Sacred Heart, Quarterback

Marcus Cox, Running Back, Appalachian State

Martin Ruiz, Running Back, Youngstown State

Darius Victor, All-Purpose Back, Towson

Drew Potter, Fullback, South Dakota

Riley Donovan, Wide Receiver, South Dakota

Karel Hamilton, Wide Receiver, Samford

Barrett Burns, Tight End, Appalachian State

Jimmy Lowery, Tackle, Eastern Illinois

Anton Wahrby, Tackle, Wofford

Matt Fisher, Guard Cal Poly

Jacob Julian, Guard, Northern Arizona

Tad McNeely, Center, New Hampshire


First-Team Special Teams


Anthony Prevost, Place Kicker, Hampton

Bentley Critcher, Punter, Appalachian State

Jatavious Wilson, Kickoff Returner, Central Arkansas

Anthony Warrum, Punt Returner, Illinois State

Chandler Dowell, Long Snapper, Southern Utah


Second-Team Offense


Drew Reed, Quarterback, Lafayette

John Russ, Quarterback, Mercer

Tarik Cohen, Running Back, North Carolina A&T

C.J. Williams, Running Back, Bucknell

Kade Harrington, All-Purpose Back, Lamar

Josh Barge, Wide Receiver, Jacksonville State

Devin Borders, Wide Receiver, Eastern Kentucky

Andre Dessenberg, Wide Receiver, Towson

Eric Saubert, Tight End, Drake

JP Flynn, Tackle, Montana State

Javarius Leamon, Tackle, South Carolina State

Jessamen Dunker, Guard, Tennessee State

Corey Levin, Guard, Chattanooga

Aubrey Beal, Bryant, Center


Second-Team Defense


Boston Bryant, Defensive End, Wofford

Samson Ebukam, Defensive End, Eastern Washington

Winston Craig, Defensive Tackle, Richmond

Patrick Richard, Defensive Tackle, Maine

Kourtney Berry, Linebacker, Alabama State

Aaron Reed, Linebacker, Duquesne

Marquis Smith, Linebacker, Savannah State

Jameer Thurman, Linebacker, Indiana State

Demetrius Johnson, Cornerback, Texas Southern 

Trey Morgan, Cornerback, Western Carolina

Cam Kuksa, Safety, North Dakota

Donald Payne, Safety, Stetson


Second-Team Special Teams


Warren Handrahan, Place Kicker, Samford

Eric Enderson, Punter, Delaware

Devin Brown, Kickoff Returner, Coastal Carolina

Chris Crawford. Punt Returner, Stetson

Austin Barth, Long Snapper, Montana State


Freshman of the Year


Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington, Wide Receiver


First-Year Coach of the Year


Dale Lindsay, San Diego



Conference Breakdown


Big Sky (8): Austin Barth, Montana State; Chandler Dowell, Southern Utah; Samson Ebukam, Eastern Washington; Matt Fisher, Cal Poly; JP Flynn, Montana State; Jacob Julian, Northern Arizona; Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington; Robert Torgerson, Southern Utah.


Big South (1): Devin Brown, Coastal Carolina.


Colonial Athletic Association (8): Winston Craig, Richmond; Andre Dessenberg, Towson; Eric Enderson, Delaware; Tad McNeely, New Hampshire; Christophe Mulumba, Maine; Patrick Richard, Maine; Gage Steele, James Madison; Darius Victor, Towson.


Ivy League (1): Foyesade Oluokun, Yale.


Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (5): Tarik Cohen, North Carolina A&T; Michael Jones, North Carolina Central; Javarius Leamon, South Carolina State; Anthony Prevost, Hampton; Marquis Smith, Savannah State.


Missouri Valley Football Conference (8): Riley Donovan, South Dakota; Cam Kuksa, North Dakota; Jimmy Lowery, Eastern Illinois; Drew Potter, South Dakota; Martin Ruiz, Youngstown State; Jameel Smith, Youngstown State; Jameer Thurman, Indiana State; Anthony Warrum, Illinois State.


Northeast Conference (4): Aubrey Beal, Center; R. J. Noel, Sacred Heart; Aaron Reed, Duquesne; James Rentz, Sacred Heart.


Ohio Valley Conference (5): Josh Barge, Jacksonville State; Austin Black, Southeast Missouri State; Devin Borders, Eastern Kentucky; Jessamen Dunker, Tennessee State; Eli Jenkins, Jacksonville State.


Patriot League (2): Drew Reed, Lafayette; C.J. Williams, Bucknell.


Pioneer Football League (3): Chris Crawford. Stetson; Donald Payne, Stetson; Eric Saubert, Drake.


Southern  Conference (12): Boston Bryant, Wofford; Barrett Burns, Appalachian State; Marcus Cox, Appalachian State; Bentley Critcher, Appalachian State; Karel Hamilton, Samford; Warren Handrahan, Samford; John Law, Appalachian State; Corey Levin, Chattanooga; Trey Morgan, Western Carolina; Trey Robinson, Furman; John Russ, Mercer; Anton Wahrby, Wofford.


Southland Conference (3): Kade Harrington, Lamar; JeMarcus Marshall, Northwestern State; Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas.


Southwestern Athletic Conference (3): Kourtney Berry, Alabama State; Demetrius Johnson, Texas Southern ; Javancy Jones, Jackson State.

filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director