4 Bulldogs Named to USA Football Network Team

Ben Carbery. (photo by Ron Waite, Photosportacular)
Ben Carbery. (photo by Ron Waite, Photosportacular)

3 Seniors, 1 Junior Make Pre-Season List

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – A bunch of pre-season honors came to Bulldogs this week with the Yale football team about a month out from the official start of practices.


Deon Randall, Ben Carbery, Kyle Cazzetta and Cole Champion were all selected on the USA Football Network's USA College Football FCS Pre-Season All-American Team.


The 11th annual squad was selected by a national panel including head coaches, sports information directors, members of the Football Writers Association of America, Metropolitan New York Football Writers Association, New England Football Writers Association and Philadelphia Football Writers, pro football scouts plus staff journalists of Lindey's Sports Annuals, The Sports Network and USA Football News.


Randall, the team captain and a senior receiver, was the lone first-team pick on the USA College list. He was first-team All-Ivy and All-New England in 2013 after making 85 catches and coming within one grab of the school season record.


Carbery, a senior offensive lineman, made the second team. He earned second-team all-league honors last fall as Yale's starting right tackle and the recipient of the team's Hammer Award (hardest hits).


Cazzetta, a third-team selection on the USA list as a placekicker, could also be named to the Fred Mitchell Award Watch List for a second straight summer. That's the honor doled out for the nation's top punter. For the first time as a collegian, last year, he handled both kicking duties for the Bulldogs. Cazzetta connected on 11 field goals (2nd most in the league) and had a 38.7 average on punts.


Yale's other third-team pick was Champion, a junior safety who led the Elis in solo tackles (49) and interceptions (3) last fall. He was second-team All-Ivy in 2013 and has started 17 straight games in the secondary.

Dennis Wilson, serving his 24th term as President of the Metropolitan New York Football Writers Association, is the President and CEO of USA Football Network, Inc.
filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director