Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

20 Bulldogs Earn All-Ivy Honors

Kevin Warhola image
Kevin Warhola image

Dudek Gets Rookie of Year


PRINCETON, N.J. – Yale's 1977 Ivy League Championship team celebrated its 40th anniversary last weekend at New Haven during the 24-3 win in The Game, the finishing touch on the Elis' first outright league title in 37 years.


That helped the Bulldogs get eight players on the All-Ivy League first-team, the most since the 1977 champions placed the same number on the top team. Four on both sides of the line were named to the Ancient Eight's first squad, and one of them, running back Zane Dudek, was rookie of the year. The most Yale has ever had was a dozen in 1974.


Yale, which had 20 overall picked by the league coaches for all-star honors, went 9-1 (6-1 Ivy) and earned a national ranking of No. 24 in the FCS STATS and FCS Coaches polls.


The Bulldogs' first-team picks on offense were offensive linemen Jon Bezney and Karl Marback, tight end Jaeden Graham and Dudek, a candidate for league player of the year and Yale's first Ivy Rookie of the Year since Mike McLeod in 2005. The defense included secondary members Spencer Rymiszewski and Hayden Carlson, lineman John Herubin and linebacker Matthew Oplinger, who is a candidate for the defensive portion of the Asa S. Bushnell Cup (league MVP).  Seven of the eight are seniors.


Seven Elis earned second-team all-league honors, including three on defense, three on offense and one special teams player. Senior linemen Anders Huizenga and Sterling Strother and classmate receiver Christopher Williams-Lopez represented the offense. Foyesade Oluokun, a senior linebacker who earned Ivy League Defensive Player of the Week after leading the Blue in tackles Saturday, joined junior end Kyle Mullen, Yale's new captain, and sophomore end Charles Callender as Yale offensive second-teamers. Junior Alex Galland, who handled the punting and placekicking, was also with that group.


The five honorable mention Yale picks included Kurt Rawlings (So, QB), Dieter Eiselen (So, OL), Deshawn Salter (Sr, RB), Jason Alessi (Sr, DB) and Malcolm Dixon (So, DB).





Jon Bezney, Yale (Sr., OL – Cincinnati)
Matt Kaskey, Dartmouth (Jr., OL – Winnetka, Ill.)
Nathan Kirchmier, Penn (Sr., OL – Pembroke Pines, Fla.)
Karl Marback, Yale (Sr., OL – Birmingham, Mich.)
Mitchell Sweigart, Princeton (Sr., OL – Washington Boro, Pa.)
*Chad Kanoff, Princeton (Sr., QB – Pacific Palisades, Calif.)
*Zane Dudek, Yale (Fr., RB – Kittanning, Pa.)
Charlie Booker III, Harvard (Jr., RB – Houston)
*Jesper Horsted, Princeton (Jr., WR – Shoreview, Minn.)
Josh Wainwright, Columbia (Jr., WR – Austin, Texas)
*Justin Watson, Penn (Sr., WR – Bridgeville, Pa.)
Jaeden Graham, Yale (Sr., TE – Aurora, Colo.)

John Herubin, Yale (Sr., DL – Coppell, Texas)
Lord Hyeamang, Columbia (Sr., DL – Lakeville, Minn.)
*Richard Jarvis, Brown (Sr., DE – Watertown, Mass.)
Louis Vecchio, Penn (Sr., DE – Orange, Calif.)
Tom Johnson, Princeton (Jr., LB – Moorestown, N.J.)
Nick Miller, Penn (Jr., LB – New Market, Md.)
*Matthew Oplinger, Yale (Sr., LB – Summit, N.J.)
*Jack Traynor, Dartmouth (Sr., LB – Lake Forest, Ill.)
Hayden Carlson, Yale (Sr., DB – Glen Ellyn, Ill.)
*Nick Gesualdi, Cornell (Sr., S – Sykesville, Md.)
Cameron Roane, Columbia (Sr., DB – Durham, N.C.)
Spencer Rymiszewski, Yale (Sr., DB – West Chester, Pa.)

Special Teams
Jack Soslow, Penn (Jr., K – Bryn Mawr, Pa.)
Parker Thome, Columbia (Sr., P – Hortonville, Wis.)
*Justice Shelton-Mosley, Harvard (Jr., WR/RS – Sacramento, Calif.)

Eric Ramirez, Princeton (Sr., OL – York, Pa.)
Patrick Kilcommons, Dartmouth (Jr., OL – Berwyn, Ill.)
J. Edward Keating, Cornell (Jr., OL – Birmingham, Mich.)
Anders Huizenga, Yale (Sr., OL – Trophy Club, Texas)
Christian Montano, Brown (Sr., OL – Orange, Conn.)
Clay Eubank, Brown (Sr., OL – Coto De Caza, Calif.)
Bewley Wales, Columbia (Sr., OL – Tulsa, Okla.)
Tommy Dennis, Penn (Jr., OT – East Setauket, N.Y.)
Reily Radosevich, Princeton (So., OL – Manalapan, N.J.)
Sterling Strother, Yale (So., OL – Moraga, Calif.)
Anders Hill, Columbia (Sr., QB – Boulder, Colo.)
Tre Solomon, Penn (Sr., RB – Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Charlie Volker, Princeton (Jr., RB – Fair Haven, N.J.)
Stephen Carlson, Princeton (Jr., WR – Jamestown, N.Y.)
Hunter Hagdorn, Dartmouth (So., WR – Manvel, Texas)
Chris Williams-Lopez, Yale (Sr., WR – Duluth, Ga.)
Nick Bokun, Penn (Sr., TE – Hobart, Ind.)

Charles Callender, Yale (So., DE – Cutler Bay, Fla.)
Stone Hart, Harvard (Sr., DT – Olympia, Wash.)
Kyle Mullen, Yale (Jr., DE – Manalapan, N.J.)
Nick Tomkins, Dartmouth (Sr., DL – Matawan, N.J.)
Kurt Frimel, Cornell (Sr., LB – Cream Ridge, N.J.)
Luke Hutton, Harvard (Sr., LB – Austin, Texas)
Eric Meile, Dartmouth (Sr., LB – Ramsey, N.J.)
Foyesade Oluokun, Yale (Sr., LB – St. Louis)
Landon Baty, Columbia (Sr., DB – Mountain View, Calif.)
Tanner Lee, Harvard (Sr., S – Spanish Fort, Ala.)
Danny McManus, Dartmouth (Sr., DB – Mendota Heights, Minn.)
Sam Philippi, Penn (Jr., DB – Trabuco Canyon, Calif.)
Isiah Swann, Dartmouth (So., DB – Queen Creek, Ariz.)

Special Teams
Nickolas Null, Cornell (So., K – Bradenton, Fla.)
Alex Galland, Yale (Jr., P – Bakersfield, Calif.)
Tiger Bech, Princeton (So., WR/RS – Lafayette, La.)

Jack Anderson, Dartmouth (Sr., OL – Palo Alto, Calif.)
Greg Begnoche, Penn (So., OT – Delray Beach, Fla.)
Dieter Eiselen, Yale (So., OL – Stellenbosch, South Africa)
Markham Paukune, Columbia (Sr., OL – Fort Worth, Texas)
Jack Heneghan, Dartmouth (Sr., QB – Atherton, Calif.)
Kurt Rawlings, Yale (So., QB – Bel Air, Md.)
Karekin Brooks, Penn (So., RB – Marietta, Ga.)
Deshawn Salter, Yale (Sr., RB – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Ryder Stone, Dartmouth (Sr., RB – Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
Jakob Prall, Brown (So., WR – Tipp City, Ohio)
Justice Shelton-Mosley, Harvard (Jr., WR/RS – Sacramento, Calif.)
Ronald Smith II, Columbia (So., WR – St. Louis)
Graham Adaomitis, Princeton (Jr., TE – Ross Township, Pa.)
Stephen Johnston, Dartmouth (Sr., TE – Potomac, Md.)

Rocco Di Leo, Dartmouth (Sr., DL – Elmhurst, Ill.)
Kurt Holuba, Princeton (Sr., DL – Ho-Ho-Kus, N.J.)
Dominic Perkovic, Columbia (Sr., DL – Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)
Charlie Pontarelli, Dartmouth (Sr., DL – Glenview, Ill.)
Richie Ryan, Harvard (Jr., DT – Pittsburgh)
Jay Cammon, Jr., Penn (Jr., LB – Landover, Md.)
Colton Moskal, Penn (Sr., LB – Lake Zurich, Ill.)
Michael Murphy, Columbia (So., LB – Tampa, Fla.)
Colin Boit, Dartmouth (Jr., DB – Sammamish, Wash.)
Connor Coughlin, Brown (Sr., FS – Medford, N.Y.)
Malcolm Dixon, Yale (So., DB – Gardena, Calif.)
Jason Alessi, Yale (Sr., DB – Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)
David Jones, Cornell (So., DB – Sugar Land, Texas)
C.J. Wall, Princeton (Fr., DB – Plano, Texas)
DJ Woullard, Cornell (JR., DB – Fullerton, Calif.)

Special Teams
David Smith, Dartmouth (Sr., K – Montreal)
Hunter Kelley, Penn (Sr., P – Huntington Beach, Calif.)
Nickolas Null, Cornell (So., P – Bradenton, Fla.)
Will Allen, Columbia (Fr., DB/RS – Pembroke Pines, Fla.)

*Zane Dudek, Yale (Fr., RB – Kittanning, Pa.)

AL Bagnoli
, Columbia

*-unanimous decision
^-second team expanded due to ties in the voting




 filed by Steve Conn, Yale Associate AD/Sports Publicity Director