Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Abare Named To Two Other All-America Lists

Abare Named To Two Other All-America Lists

Jan. 7, 2009

He was named first-team All-America by two different organizations before the holidays, but Yale senior captain Bobby Abare has added a few more accolades to his final collegiate campaign. The Bulldog linebacker was recently named to the College Sporting News 2008 Fabulous Fifty Division I FCS All-American Team and the 2008 Sports Network All-America second team.

Abare led Yale to a second straight year with the nation's top scoring defense. The Bulldogs allowed just over 10 points per game last fall during a 6-4 campaign.

Recently named the co-recipient of the Bulger Lowe Award (New England MVP) by the Gridiron Club of Boston, Abare was honorable mention All-America in 2007. He was a finalist for the 2008 Buck Buchanan Award as the top FCS defensive player. Yale's last first-team All-American was Ed McCarthy '07 in 2006.

Abare owns the school records for interceptions by a linebacker (10) and touchdowns by a defensive player (4). Abare, a three-time first-team All-Ivy pick, led the Blue in tackles the last three falls while his teams went 23-7 and captured a 2006 Ivy League title.



DT Everette Pedescleaux, Northern Iowa

DT John Faletoese, UC Davis

DE Greg Miller, Villanova

DE Jovan Belcher, Maine

DL Austin Lane, Murray State

DL James Ruffin, Northern Iowa

DL Larry Hart, Central Arkansas

DL Sherman Logan, Richmond

LB Andy Schantz, Portland State

LB Bobby Abare, Yale

LB Eric McBride, Richmond

LB Jason Williams, Western Illinois

LB Zach East, Prairie View A&M

CB Dominique Johnson, Jackson State

CB K. J. Gerard, Northern Arizona

DB Carnell Clark, Jacksonville State

DB Courtney Robinson, Massachusetts

DB Dontrell Miller, Tennessee Martin

DB Lardarius Webb, Nicholls State

S Colt Anderson, Montana

S Mark LeGree Appalachian State


QB Nathan Brown, Central Arkansas

QB Rodney Landers, James Madison

RB Herb Donaldson, Western Illinois

RB Rashad Jennings, Liberty

FB Marcus Mailei, Weber State

AB Larry Warner, Southern Illinois

C Scott Lemm, James Madison

OG Colin Dow, Montana

OG Jonathan Compas, UC Davis

OT Joel Bell, Furman

OT Nick Hennessey, Colgate

OL Cornelius Lewis, Tennessee State

TE Clay Harbor, Missouri State

TE Scott Sicko, New Hampshire

WR Andre Roberts, The Citadel

WR Cameron Luke, Texas State

WR John Matthews, San Diego

WR Ramses Barden, Cal Poly

WR Terrell Hudgins, Elon


K Andrew Wilcox, Elon

P Robby Dehaze, Northern Arizona

KR Leroy Vann, Florida A&M

PR Scotty McGee, James Madison

LS Dan Pope, Liberty


Coach of the Year: Mike London, Richmond Offensive Player of the Year: Armanti Edwards, QB, Appalachian State Defensive Player of the Year: Greg Peach, DE, Eastern Washington Offensive Lineman of the Year: Matthew McCracken, OG, Richmond Freshman of the Year: Edwin Gowins, RB, Stony Brook Playoff Most Valuable Player: Lawrence Sidbury, Jr., DE, Richmond