Two Yale Prefrosh Compete in Coca-Cola High School All-Star Game

Two Yale Prefrosh Compete in Coca-Cola High School All-Star Game

Jan. 28, 2005

Two players who have committed to Yale, Kyle Hawari and Landon Hairgrove, will compete tomorrow in the fifth annual Coca-Cola High School All-Star Football Game, with kickoff at 2:00 PM at the University of Texas-Arlington's Maverick Stadium.

Hawari, a defensive lineman out of Plano West high school, will compete on the East team. The 6'5", 230-lb high school senior was accepted early to the Bulldogs and will join the team next season. He will be joined on the East team by three other players from his high school: Eric Johnson, a quarterback who has committed to SMU, and Kyle and Korey Miller, a pair of linebackers who will go to UCLA next season.

Landon Hairgrove, a 6'3", 280-lb offensive lineman, will represent the West team that is coached by the staff from his high school, Grapevine. Like Hawari, he has committed early to the Bulldogs. He is joined by Grapevine teammates offensive lineman Bryce Perkins and defensive lineman Darius Warner, both of whom are undecided about college plans, and linebacker Hentry Melton, who has committed to Texas.

Both players are the only ones on their respective rosters to have committed to I-AA schools; the rest of the players who have already signed with schools are headed to Division I-A.

Report by Katie Baker '05, Yale Sports Publicity Office