Bulldogs Celebrate Ivy Championship at Annual Banquet

Bulldogs Celebrate Ivy Championship at Annual Banquet

Jan. 27, 2007

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Yale had something extra to celebrate at its annual football banquet on Saturday night, symbolized by the Ivy League football championship trophy that served as the centerpiece at the head table. The night also focused on recognizing the 29 seniors sitting at that table who helped lead Yale to its 14th Ivy title.

"These are guys that put their heart and soul into this football program, and they got the ultimate reward," said Jack Siedlecki, Yale's Joel E. Smilow '54 Head Coach of Football. Siedlecki thanked all those in the crowd of several hundred at Commons who had contributed to the team's success.

Siedlecki also praised senior wide receiver Chandler Henley, the captain who rallied the team around the slogan "teamwork makes the dream work."

"It's amazing how many guys really took that to heart," Siedlecki said. "It created a tremendous atmosphere of team. This team was `we' all the time."

Henley and his fellow seniors then helped give gifts to the coaching staff, and the Bulldogs then gave out their annual team awards. Here is a complete list:

Ted Blair Award
Given to the most valuable player on the varsity team in memory of Edwin Foster (Ted) Blair '24.
TB Mike McLeod '09 (New Britain, Conn.)

Jordan Olivar Award
Given to that senior, other than the captain, who, through his devotion to Yale football, has earned the highest respect of his teammates.
OT Ed McCarthy '07 (Fairfield, Conn.)

Woody Knapp Memorial Trophy
Given to that outstanding member of the football team who best typifies the cheerful disposition, leadership qualities, and unselfish devotion to others which characterized Woody's life and accomplishments at Yale.
OL Steve Bassermann '07 (Branford, Conn.)

Robert Gardner Anderson Award
Given to the player who best exemplifies Bob's interest in the sport by combination of skill, spirit and pride in accomplishment.
LB Chris Barry '07 (Dallas, Texas) and WR Ashley Wright '07 (Mobile, Ala.)

Norman S. Hall Memorial Trophy
Given to an individual for outstanding service to Yale football, in memory of Norman Hall '30.
DB Kevin Littleton '07 (West Bloomfield, Mich.)

Gregory Dubinetz Memorial Trophy
Given to the lineman who best exemplifies the spirit of Greg Dubinetz as a player and person.
OG Brett Crandall '07 (Mesa, Az.)

Charles Loftus Award
Given to the most valuable freshman.
DB Paul Rice '10 (Cleveland Heights, Ohio)

Chester J. LaRoche Award
Given to that senior who, by his character, academic talents and concern for others, did the most for Yale.
DE Michael McGinity '07 (Austin, Texas)

Ledyard Mitchell Award
Awarded for proficiency in kicking.
PK Alan Kimball '08 (Olathe, Kan.)

Jim Keppel Award
(Offensive Back of the Year)
Given to the offensive back who best exhibited Jim's work ethic, pride and dedication to Yale Football, as well as his ability to enrich the lives of his friends and teammates.
FB Taylor Craig '07 (Lighthouse Pt., Fla.)

Ryan LoProto Award
(Defensive Back of the Year)
Awarded to the player on the Yale Football Team who best exemplifies Ryan's passion and competitive spirit, skill in the defensive secondary, and devotion to teammates.
LB Bobby Abare '09 (Acton, Mass.)

Offensive Lineman of the Year
(Ted Turner Award)
OT Ed McCarthy '07 (Fairfield, Conn.)

Defensive Lineman of the Year
MG Brandt Hollander '08 (Indianapolis, Ind.)

Hammer of the Year
DB Larry Abare '09 (Acton, Mass.)

Specialist of the Year
DB Steven Santoro '09 (Airmont, N.Y.)

Complete List of Yale's 2006 Season Honors in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

report by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity