Annual Awards Handed Out at Team Banquet

Annual Awards Handed Out at Team Banquet

Jan. 29, 2005

New Haven, CT -

TB Robert Carr '05 (Baytown, TX) took home two awards, including the Ted Blair Award as team MVP, at the Yale Football team's annual banquet Saturday night. Both of the awards Carr won were selected by a team vote.

The complete list of award winners:

Ted Blair Award
Given to the most valuable player on the varsity team in memory of Edwin Foster (Ted) Blair '24.
RB Robert Carr '05 (Baytown, TX)

Jordan Olivar Award
Given to that senior, other than the captain, who, through his devotion to Yale football, has earned the highest respect of his teammates.
RB Robert Carr '05 (Baytown, TX)

Woody Knapp Memorial Trophy
Given to that outstanding member of the football team who best typifies the cheerful disposition, leadership qualities, and unselfish devotion to others which characterized Woody's life and accomplishments at Yale.
DL Willie Cruz '05 (New Britain, CT)

Robert Gardner Anderson Award
Given to the player who best exemplifies Bob's interest in the sport by combination of skill, spirit and pride in accomplishment.
LB Ben Breunig '05 (Dallas, TX)

Norman S. Hall Memorial Trophy
Given to an individual for outstanding service to Yale football, in memory of Norman Hall '30.
DL Bryant Dieffenbacher '04 (Ashtabula, OH)

Gregory Dubinetz Memorial Trophy
Given to the lineman who best exemplifies the spirit of Greg Dubinetz as a player and person.
DL Nick Campbell '05 (New Canaan, CT)

Charles Loftus Award
Given to the most valuable freshman.
DL Brandt Hollander '08 (Indianapolis, IN)

Chester J. LaRoche Award
Given to that senior who, by his character, academic talents and concern for others, did the most for Yale.
PK Andrew Sullivan '05 (Minneapolis, MN)

Ledyard Mitchell Award
Awarded for proficiency in kicking.
P Tyson Crawford '05 (Dallas, TX)

Offensive Back of the Year (Jim Keppel Award)
WR Ralph Plumb '05 (Portsmouth, RI)

Defensive Back of the Year
DB Barton Simmons '04 (Nashville, TN)

Offensive Lineman of the Year (Ted Turner Award)
OL Rory Hennessey '05 (Strongsville, OH)

Defensive Lineman of the Year
DE Brandon Dyches '06 (Chapin, SC)

Hammer of the Year
DE Don Smith '05 (New Fairfield, CT)

Specialist of the Year
DB Nick Solakian '07 (Santa Barbara, CA)