Rookie of the Year McCarthy Headlines 12 Bulldogs Honored by League

Rookie of the Year McCarthy Headlines 12 Bulldogs Honored by League

Nov. 25, 2003

Eleven Yale football players were named to a 2003 All-Ivy team and freshman left guard Ed McCarthy took league Rookie of the Year honors.

The Bulldogs, picked third in the pre-season Ancient Eight media poll, finished 6-4 overall and tied for second with Harvard, Dartmouth and Brown with a 4-3 mark in Ivy play. Yale, which broke or tied 43 different individual and team offensive records in 2003, closed the season with a 37-19 loss to Harvard before 53,136 at Yale Bowl, the largest crowd to witness a game at the historic stadium in 14 years. The Elis led the Ivies in points (35.4), passing (307.3) and total offense (479.7).

Joining McCarthy, Yale's second Ivy Rookie of the Year and the first since Todd Tomich in 1997, for Ivy honors were first-team picks Rory Hennessey (LT), Jake Kohl (RT) and Nate Lawrie (TE). Quarterback Alvin Cowan, a finalist for the Walter Payton Award as I-AA's top offensive player, Will Conroy (C), Robert Carr (TB), John Troost (PK) and Kenneth Estrera (LB) garnered second-team status, while receivers Ralph Plumb and Ron Benigno and Bryant Dieffenbacher (DT) were honorable mention picks.

The Elis scored 43 touchdowns - two shy of the school record set by the 1968 squad - and made enormous edits on the Yale record books. Head coach Jack Siedlecki's offense outscored opponents by 70 points, including 36 in the fourth quarter, while turning the ball over just 11 times in 10 games.

report by Steve Conn, Assistant Athletic Director/ Director of Sports Publicity