3 Bulldogs Earn All-New England Honors

3 Bulldogs Earn All-New England Honors

Nov. 29, 2006

The awards continue coming to Yale players following their 2006 Ivy League co-championship season. Today, Bobby Abare, Brandt Hollander and Ed McCarthy were all named to the 2006 All-New England Division I-AA team selected by the New England Football Writers.

All three Bulldogs were named first-team All-Ivy League last week.

McCarthy, a 2006 National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete and finalist for the Draddy Award, helped lead a Bulldog offense that ranked 15th nationally with 200 rushing yards per game. McCarthy is Yale's only repeat on the All-Ivy first-team.

"It's a great honor to be named one of the top players from the region, but our entire offensive line deservers the credit," said McCarthy, who has been honored by the Ivy League all four years. "It's tough for one offensive lineman to get an award because all of our success is based on the work of a unit. And Mike [McLeod, the All-Ivy RB] also made us look good."

Hollander, an honorable mention pick last fall, had 24 tackles and a team-high four sacks.

"I appreciate the opportunity to win an award like this but it is really a testament to all the guys on the defense," said Hollander. "There are players like Jared Hamilton and Kirk Porter who deserve more recognition for their play. Our success is a result of everyone's efforts."

Abare, who led the Bulldogs with 76 total stops, including nine for lost yardage, returned two of his team-best four interceptions for scores. His three-interception day at Brown (one returned for a TD) was the finest individual defensive performance for a Bulldog in 2006.

Report filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director