Abare, Dale Named All-New England

Abare, Dale Named All-New England

Dec. 4, 2008

Two seniors from the Yale Football Team, LB Bobby Abare (Acton, Mass.) and OT Darius Dale (Seattle, Wash.) have been named first-team All-New England. The two Bulldogs, already 2008 first-team All-Ivy picks, were selected by the New England Football Writers and will be honored at their annual Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, Dec. 11, at Casa Di Fior in Wilmington, Mass.

Abare, who earned his third straight All-New England honor, captained a Yale team that led the nation in scoring defense for the second straight fall. He also had more interceptions (10) than any linebacker in school history and scored more touchdowns (4) than any defensive player ever at Yale.

Dale is a two-time All-Ivy selection who started 32 games in his collegiate career on the offensive line. His efforts paved the way for classmate Mike McLeod to rush for 4,514 yards and break every major school rushing record.

2008 All-New England Football Team


DL- Don Smith, Bryant, Jr.

DL-Matt Curtis, Harvard, Sr.

DL- Jovan Belcher, Maine, Sr.

DL- David Howard, Brown, Sr.

LB- Bobby Abare, Yale, Sr.

LB- Eric Schultz, Harvard, Sr.

LB- Phil Higgins, Northeastern, Sr.

LB- Matt Parent, New Hampshire, Sr.

LB- Matt Hansen, Rhode Island, So.

DB- Andre Isla, Sacred Heart, Jr.

DB- Andrew Berry, Harvard, Sr.

DB- Courtney Robinson, Massachusetts, Sr.

DB- Ian Wilson, Dartmouth, Sr.


QB- Chris Pizzotti, Harvard, Sr.

QB- Dominic Randolph, Holy Cross, Sr.

RB- Tony Nelson, Massachusetts, Jr.

RB- James Mallory, Central Conn., Jr.

WR- Bobby Sewall, Brown, Jr.

WR- Mike Boyle, New Hampshire, Sr.

WR- John Brock, Holy Cross, Sr.

WR- Buddy Farnham, Brown, Jr.

TE- Brian Mandeville, Northeastern, Sr.

OL- Darius Dale, Yale, Sr.

OL- Shane Kelley, Brown, Sr.

OL- Ryan Canary, Maine, Sr.

OL- James Williams, Harvard, Jr.

OL- Josh Droesch, New Hampshire, Sr.


PK- Matt Partain, Holy Cross, Sr.

P- Brett Arnold, Massachusetts, Sr.

KR- Brett McDermott, Holy Cross, Sr.

Release filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director