McCarthy Honored at NFF Event

McCarthy Honored at NFF Event

Dec. 7, 2006

Ed McCarthy, the senior offensive lineman who led Yale to a share of the 2006 Ivy League football championship, was honored Tuesday night as a scholar-athlete and Draddy Award finalist at The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's 49th Annual Awards Dinner at Manhattan's Waldorf.

McCarthy, who started 39 straight games, played every position on the offensive line and was honored by the Ivy League all four years, represented Yale at one of college athletics' most prestigious events. He was the only Ivy League player among the 17 NFF Scholar-Athletes for 2006.

"The event was amazing. I had no idea it was going to be such a big deal. It seemed like every major coach in the country was there. The NFF did a great job putting it on," said McCarthy, a Fairfield, Conn., native and history major with a 3.69 GPA. It felt amazing to be representing Yale at the banquet. Seeing Yale's banner hanging in the room and hearing Coach [Carm] Cozza's name announced as a hall of famer made me think of Yale's rich football history and how lucky I am to have been a part of it. And our 2006 team [championship] added to the history."

McCarthy is a 2006 American Football Coaches Association First-Team All-America who was first-team All-Ivy the last two years. This past fall, he led Yale to a share of the league championship with an 8-2 (6-1 Ivy) record while spearheading an offense that ranked No. 1 in rushing among Ivy teams, 15th in I-AA, with 200.80 yards per game.

"The most impressive thing was the people who attended the banquet. Emmitt Smith and Bruce Smith were being inducted into the Hall of Fame. Bobby Bowden was also inducted, so I was sitting with two of the greatest players of all time and possibly the greatest coach of all time. Talking to the other scholar-athletes, I learned how normal some of these college football stars are. It was really cool to meet them and be treated as an equal," said McCarthy.

McCarthy, whose father, Rick McCarthy, was Yale's first NFF Scholar-Athlete in 1967, had his parents, Yale Athletics Director Tom Beckett, Cozza, Yale Football Association President Pat Ruwe `83, head coach Jack Siedlecki, associate head coach Keith Clark and assistant Larry Ciotti at the Waldorf Tuesday night. The McCarthys are the only father and son combination to earn the NFF scholar-athlete honors. Peter Lee '02, was the last Bulldog to win this award.

Brian Leonard, the standout fullback from Rutgers, was the winner of the 2006 Draddy Trophy presented by HealthSouth. Here is the entire list of 2006 Draddy finalists and National Scholar-Atlete Award winners:

Brad Cook - Center, Saint Ambrose University (Iowa)

Brian Daniels - Offensive Guard, University of Colorado

Rhema Fuller - Defensive Tackle, University of Connecticut

Jay Henry - Linebacker, West Virginia University

Michael Klobucher - Linebacker, Ferris State University (Mich.)

Christopher Leak - Quarterback, University of Florida

Brian Leonard - Fullback, Rutgers University

Aaron Lewis - Defensive Back, Carnegie Mellon University (Pa.)

Ed McCarthy - Offensive Lineman, Yale University

Ryan Meredith - Defensive End, Pittsburg State University (Kan.)

Luke Palko - Wide Receiver, Saint Francis University (Pa.)

Carl Pendleton - Defensive Tackle, University of Oklahoma

Paul Posluszny - Linebacker, Penn State University

Kristian Smith - Offensive Lineman, Alabama A&M University

P.J. Theisen - Wide Receiver, University of Saint Thomas (Minn.)

Joseph Thomas -Offensive Tackle, University of Wisconsin

JohnWendling- Safety, University of Wyoming

report filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director