McCarthy Wins Swede Nelson Award

McCarthy Wins Swede Nelson Award

Dec. 13, 2006

Ed McCarthy, a senior Yale offensive tackle, has already had a decent run of accolades over the last two weeks. He was named first-team I-AA All-America by the American Football Coaches Association, the Associated Press, The Sports Network and the Walter Camp Football Foundation, while being honored as a scholar-athlete by the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame. The honors keep coming. Today, McCarthy was named the winner of the Gridiron Club of Boston's Nils V. "Swede" Nelson Award.

The Swede Nelson Award goes to a football player in New England for outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, sportsmanship and citizenship. The award will be presented on Jan. 11 at the Burlington Marriott, but Yale head coach Jack Siedlecki will be the only one from New Haven to accept it.

McCarthy, a history major who is working on a senior essay about the Irish War of Independence, will be in Dublin doing research for two weeks and will miss the event.

Past Yale winners of the Swede Nelson Award include Eric Johnson (2000), Dick Jauron (1971), Brian Dowling (1967) and Joe Mitinger (1952).

McCarthy, who started 39 straight games and led Yale to a share of the 2006 Ivy League football championship, played every position on the offensive line and was honored by the Ivy League all four years. McCarthy earned first-team All-Ivy status the last two years.

This past fall, he led Yale to a share of the league championship with an 8-2 (6-1 Ivy) record while spearheading an offense that ranked No. 1 in rushing among Ivy teams, 15th in I-AA, with 200.80 yards per game.