Abare Earns New England MVP Award

Abare Earns New England MVP Award

Dec. 14, 2008

Bobby Abare, Yale's 2008 football captain, will make another trip back to his home state on Jan. 15 when he receives the George "Bulger" Lowe Award as the outstanding player in New England from the Gridiron Club of Boston. Abare shares the 2008 award with Mark Herzlich of Boston College.

He was in Massachusetts last Thursday to be honored as a first-team All-New England selection for the third straight season.

The Yale linebacker and Acton, Mass., native who led the squad in tackles the last three years, is the first Bulldog since Rich Diana in 1981 to win the Bulger Lowe Award. Nine Yale players have won the award since Paul Walker became the first in 1944. Abare, who joins some legendary Bulldogs who have received this honor, is the first from the defensive side. Abare captained a Yale team that led the nation in scoring defense for the second straight fall. He also had more interceptions (10) than any linebacker in school history and scored more touchdowns (4) than any defensive player ever at Yale.


1944 - Paul Walker, E

1946 - Levi Jackson, RB

1950 - Bob Spears, FB

1956 - Denny McGill, HB

1960 - Tom Singleton, QB

1968 - Brian Dowling, QB

1972 - Dick Jauron, RB

1981 - Rich Diana, RB

2008 - Bobby Abare, LB

Release filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director