Bulldogs Begin 2010 Season

Bulldogs Begin 2010 Season

Open at George Washington Invitational

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – After months of indoor training, the Bulldogs are ready to hit the links for their spring season.  The Yale men’s golf team had one of its best fall seasons in recent memory and is looking to ride that momentum into the spring.

The spring schedule consists of five tournaments, culminating in the Ivy League Championships on Apr. 23-25.  The Bulldogs open their season this weekend at the George Washington Invitational.  The tournament will take place Mar. 19-20 at the Bear Trap Dunes Golf Course in Bethany Beach, Del.  It will be a 54-hole event, weather providing.  Competing against Yale will be Colgate, Delaware, Duquesne, Hofstra, Holy Cross, George Washington, Missouri, Monmouth, Niagara, Penn, Rhode Island, Rider and Villanova. 

From there, Yale will host its annual spring opener before heading to the Princeton Invitational and Caves Valley Spring Intercollegiate.  After that, it is on to the Ivy League Championships, where the Bulldogs have been in a bit of a drought as of late.  After winning seven championships between 1984 and 1997, Yale’s last championship came during the 2002-03 season.  Since then, Princeton has won three championships, Columbia two and Penn one.  Columbia has won the last two, however, and proven to be a tough opponent over the last few years. 

Last year, Yale took fourth at the Ivy League Championships behind Columbia, Penn and Dartmouth.  The Bulldogs were right in the thick of things after day one, but let things slide during the second round, when a number of other teams made moves.  Yale tried to stage a come back on the final day, shooting the lowest score of any team, but it was too little, too late.  Yale ultimately finished six strokes behind Columbia, seven behind Penn and two behind Dartmouth.  Senior captain Ben Wescoe and junior Tom McCarthy led the way for Yale.  McCarthy finished in a tie for third at even-par and Wescoe finished tied for fifth at one-over.  Both were named All-Ivy for their efforts. 

Both McCarthy and Wescoe return to lead the Bulldogs again this year and they are joined by a strong supporting cast.  Wescoe is joined by senior Seve Gonzales as the only seniors on the team.  Joining McCarthy in the junior class are Michael Fader, who also played in last year’s Ivy League Championships, and Brandon Marick.  Sophomores Jeff Hatten and Zachary Plutzik both return.  Joining the team this year are three freshmen: Russell Holmes, Bradley Kushner and Carson Weinand.  All three have begun making an impact in the fall and will look to contribute come this spring.

The Bulldogs had a strong fall with two first place finishes, a second place finish, and a third place finish.  They opened the season with a second-place finish at the Dartmouth Invitational.  Yale defeated every team in the field by over ten strokes.  The only team to best the Bulldogs was the host school Dartmouth, who won by four strokes.  Leading the way for Yale was Kushner and Weinand, making their collegiate debuts.  They tied for sixth.

Yale then hosted the annual Macdonald Cup where they overcame a seven shot deficit on the final day to claim the championship trophy.  McCarthy led the way for Yale and took home the individual championship trophy with a final score of six-under.  It was his first collegiate victory.  He was followed closely by Wescoe who finished just one shot behind McCarthy in second.

The Bulldogs then went on to take third at the Big Five Invitational defeating all Ivy League opponents in attendance, including Cornell, Harvard, Penn and Princeton.  The Bulldogs then won a share of the Ivy League Match Play Championship trophy after final match with Penn got rained out.  Yale defeated both Princeton and defending Ivy League Champions Columbia in that tournament.

Report filed by Charles Moore ’10, Yale Sports Publicity