Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Moore, Matza Lead Bulldogs To 3rd At Spring Opener

Moore, Matza Lead Bulldogs To 3rd At Spring Opener
Final Results

April 8, 2007

New Haven, Conn. - Colby Moore had an impressive two-over 72 on Sunday and tied for third place as the Yale men's golf team also finished third out of a field of 20 teams at the Yale Spring Opener. The Bulldogs shot 598 (299-299) over the two-day event, only one stroke behind the University of Hartford, the tournament's winner.

Both Hartford and Johnson & Wales shot 597. However, by the time the scores were announced, Johnson & Wales was already on its way back to Florida and a deciding playoff was impossible. Hartford was declared the winner.

UConn's Jason Parajeckas won the individual title with 71-71-142.

The Bulldogs were consistent all weekend. Moore led Yale with 146 (74-72). Captain Mark Matza finished only one shot behind (75-72-147) to tie for seventh.

Ben Wescoe (74-76-150, T11), Taylor Hakes (76-79-155, T31), and Andrew Denenberg (82-79-161, T57) rounded out Yale's top five.

Yale's second team also played in the event and finished in 16th place with 661. Yale II consisted of Corey Lomas (159, T47), Seve Gonzales (161, T57), Thomas Ginakakis (169, T90), and Nathaniel Hundt (172, T101). Joseph Potter withdrew after the first day due to injury.

The Bulldogs finished in fourth place or better for the third consecutive tournament this spring. Yale took fourth place at both the Georgetown Invitational and the Lacrosse Homes Collegiate Invitational before finishing third this weekend.

Yale also finished above Brown, Harvard, Cornell, and Dartmouth, the four other Ivy teams competing in the tournament, a boost of confidence for the Bulldogs with the Ivy League Championship coming up on April 21-22.

But before they face their Ivy foes, the Bulldogs will travel to Providence, R.I. for the New England Division I Championship on April 14-15. Last Spring, Mark Matza took eighth place at the event.

Report filed by Alex Kleiner '08, Yale Sports Publicity