Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ben Wescoe Elected 2009-10 Captain

Ben Wescoe Elected 2009-10 Captain

May 5, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Junior Ben Wescoe, who won the ECAC Championships in the fall and was an All-Ivy selection in the spring, has been elected Yale's 2009-10 men's golf captain. The announcement was made last week at the team's annual post-season banquet.

"It is the highest honor I can imagine to be elected captain by my teammates, because they are my closest friends and mean the world to me," said Wescoe. "I will represent Yale and Yale Golf proudly and lead by example on and off the course with my passion and work ethic."

Wescoe, a La Jolla, Calif., native and member of Berkeley College, appeared in all nine tournaments for the Bulldogs this year. He has competed in every tournament for the Bulldogs since his freshman year, and he won his first career tournament this past October at the ECAC Championships. He shot rounds of 76 (+5), 71 (E) and 70 (-1) to win the tournament and help lead Yale to its only tournament win of the season. Wescoe also finished in a tie for fifth at this year's Ivy League Championships, which earned him his first All-Ivy selection. This season, Wescoe averaged 74.5 strokes per round, the second best on the team, and shot a low-round of 70.

Wescoe will be joined by junior Seve Gonzales as the only seniors on the team next year. Also returning from this year's Ivy League team will be sophomores Michael Fader and Thomas McCarthy. McCarthy was also an All-Ivy selection.

Wescoe and Gonzales have had the opportunity to learn from three captains before them, including Mark Matza '07, Andrew Denenberg '08 and outgoing captain Colby Moore `09.

"Seve and I have been fortunate to have had such exemplary captains in the past with Colby, Andrew and Mark," said Wescoe. "We have learned valuable leadership qualities from them and are excited to continue the excellent tradition of Yale Golf."

Senior Thomas Ginakakis was voted the most improved player at the banquet. Ginakakis finished his Yale career with the lowest tournament round of his career. Ginakakis birdied the last hole of his career at the Yale Golf Course to finish with a round of 74, his best ever.

Moore was honored with the Widdy Neale Award. The Widdy Neale Award is awarded annually to the player who did the most to boost the morale of the team and who went the extra step both on and off the course.

Yale finished the season with one tournament victory at the ECAC Championships and two second-place finishes at the Macdonald Cup and Princeton Invitational. But the Bulldogs came up short at the Ivy League Championships, finishing in fourth place, something Wescoe hopes to change.

"The team has shown great improvement over the past few years and we look forward to building upon our successes next year," said Wescoe. "We will be driven to work hard on and off the course to put ourselves in position to win every tournament."

Report filed by Charles Moore '10, Yale Sports Publicity