Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

4 Bulldogs Earn All-Ivy Honors

4 Bulldogs Earn All-Ivy Honors


PRINCETON, N.J. -- Sean Backman was named 2009-10 Ivy League Player of the Year and was among four Yale men’s hockey skaters selected for the All-Ivy League team. Backman, Broc Little and Tom Dignard all earned a spot on the league’s first team, while Mark Arcobello was a second-team selection.

Backman, an Ivy first-team pick all four years, is Yale's first Ivy Player of the Year since Jeff Hamilton in 2000-01. He has 21 goals and 35 points this year while helping the Bulldogs (19-7-3) win a second straight league title and ECAC Hockey regular season championship. Backman, a Hobey Baker Award candidate and finalist for the Frozen Four Skills Competition, also earned first-team All-ECAC honors this winter. The senior forward was the Ivy League’s rookie of the year in 2006-07.

Little, a junior forward, earned a spot on his first Ancient Eight all-star squad. He was also named first-team All-ECAC and currently leads the country in goals (25), goals-per-game (.82) and game-winners (7) and is currently on a four-game point streak. Little is also a Hobey Baker candidate.

Dignard, who was second-team All-Ivy last year, is fourth in Division I among defensemen with .92 points per game. The senior from Reading, Pa., has five goals and 22 points this season.

Arcobello, who broke the record for career games played at Yale with 126, has 11 goals and 28 points this season. The Milford, Conn., native was a first-team selection last year.

2009-10 Ivy League Men's Ice Hockey Post-Season Awards

First Team All-Ivy
F — Blake Gallagher, Cornell (Sr., Dartmouth, N.S.)
F — Colin Greening, Cornell (Sr., St. John’s, Newfoundland)
F — Sean Backman, Yale (Sr., Cos Cob, Conn.)
F — Broc Little, Yale (Jr., Rindge, N.H.)
D — Jeff Buvinow, Brown (So., Turnersville, N.J.)
D — *Tom Dignard, Yale (Sr., Reading, Mass.)
G — *Ben Scrivens, Cornell (Sr., Spruce Grove, Alb.)

Second Team All-Ivy
F — Aaron Volpatti, Brown (Sr., Revelstoke, B.C.)
F — Dan Bartlett, Princeton (Sr., Portland, Maine)
F — Mark Arcobello, Yale (Sr., Milford, Conn.)
D — Brendon Nash, Cornell (Sr., Kamloops, B.C.)
D — Taylor Fedun, Princeton (Jr., Edmonton, Alb.)
G — Zane Kalemba, Princeton (Sr., Saddle Brook, N.J.)

Honorable Mention
F — Adam Estoclet, Dartmouth (Jr., Orono, Minn.)
F — Scott Fleming, Dartmouth (Jr., Plainfield, Ont.)
F — Riley Nash, Cornell (Jr., Kamloops, B.C.)
F — Louis Leblanc, Harvard (Fr., Kirkland, Que.)
D — Evan Stephens, Dartmouth (Jr., Bessemer, Mich.)
D — Alex Biega, Harvard (Sr., Montreal, Que.)
D — Jody Pederson, Princeton (Sr., Smithers, B.C.)
G — Kyle Richter, Harvard (Jr., Calgary, Alta.)

Player of the Year
Sean Backman, Yale (Sr., Cos Cob, Conn.)

Rookie of the Year
Louis Leblanc, Harvard (Fr., Kirkland, Que.)

*Unanimous selection


Release filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director

Backman image by Jack Warhola