O'Neill Ivy Player of Year

Brian O'Neill. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Brian O'Neill. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

3 Earn All-Ivy The Day Before Playoffs


PRINCETON, N.J.  – Three Bulldog forwards from different classes were named to the 2011-12 All-Ivy League Men's Hockey Team today, including captain Brian O'Neill (Yardley, Pa.), who was named player of the year.


Junior Andrew Miller (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) and sophomore Kenny Agostino (Flanders, N.J.) were honorable mention selections.


O'Neill, a senior who has led Yale in scoring the last three seasons, became a two-time All-Ivy pick by earning first-team status and taking MVP honors. He had seven goals and 21 points in 10 games.


The Bulldogs have produced two of the last three Ivy players of the year, Sean Backman '10 took the award two years ago. O'Neill is the eighth Yale player to receive the honor.


He is now fourth in points (157), fourth in assists (90) and seventh in goals (67) on the Yale career charts. O'Neill, who has 19 goals and 40 points this winter, ranks sixth in the nation and second in the ECAC (.68) in goals per game, he is eighth (1.38) in points.


Miller, who had three goals and 11 points in Ancient Eight contests, was a first-team All-Ivy pick last year. Known as one of college hockey's premier  offensive catalysts, Miller ranks seventh in Division I with .89 assists per game and is 29th in points (1.11).


Agostino is one of the hottest Bulldogs over the last month with five goals and 11 points. In Ivy play this year, he notched six goals and also had 11 points.


The Elis host Princeton this weekend in an ECAC Hockey Tournament, best-of-three series at Ingalls Rink.


2011-12 All-Ivy League Teams


Player of the Year
F –
Brian O'Neill, Yale (Sr., Yardley, Pa.)


Rookie of the Year
F – Brian Ferlin, Cornell (Fr., Jacksonville, Fla.)


First Team

F – Alex Killorn, Harvard (Sr., Montreal, Quebec)

F – Jack Maclellan, Brown (Sr., Calgary, Alberta)

F – Brian O'Neill, Yale (Sr., Yardley, Pa.)

D – Danny Biega, Harvard (Jr., Montreal, Quebec)

D – Michael Sdao, Princeton (Jr., Niwot, Colo.)

G – Andy Iles, Cornell (So., Ithaca, N.Y.)

Second Team

F – Andrew Calof, Princeton (So., Nepean, Ontario)

F – Brian Ferlin, Cornell (Fr., Jacksonville, Fla.)

F – Greg Miller, Cornell (Jr., Toronto, Ontario)

D – Nick D'Agostino, Cornell (Jr., Bolton, Ontario)

D – Connor Goggin, Dartmouth (Sr., Glen Ellyn, Ill.)

D – Dennis Robertson, Brown (So., Fort St. John, British Columbia)

G – Steve Michalek, Harvard (Fr., Glastonbury, Conn.)


Honorable Mention

F – Kenny Agostino, Yale (So., Flanders, N.J.)

F – Doug Jones, Dartmouth (Sr., Marietta, Ga.)

F – Andrew Miller, Yale (Jr., Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)


Filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director