Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

O'Neill Named All-New England

Brian O'Neill. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Brian O'Neill. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Yale Captain Adds Another Award

AMHERST, Mass. - Brian O'Neill has been skating in the American Hockey League for two weeks while honors from his collegiate days continue to come in. Today the former Yale forward was named first-team All-New England.

O'Neill, the Yale captain this season, led the Bulldogs with 21 goals and 46 points. He was named first-team All-ECAC and Ivy League Player of the Year after ranking among the top 10 players in Division I for points and goals per game. He was also named ECAC Player of the Month for January and February this winter.

O'Neill, whose goal totals rose every year at Yale, was a three-time All-ECAC pick who helped the Elis win 89 games over four seasons. He scored 69 goals and had 163 points in 138 games; only one active player had more points per games played in 2011-12.

The Yardley, Pa., native was among six forwards selected to the All-New England team, including two (Alex Killorn, Harvard) from ECAC Hockey. He has a goal and an assist in five games for the AHL Manchester Monarchs.


2011-12 New England Men's Division I All-Stars

Joe Cannata, Sr. (Merrimack)
Doug Carr, So. (UMass Lowell)
Danny Biega, Jr. (Harvard)
Adam Clendending, So. (Boston University)
Brian Dumoulin, Jr. (Boston College)
Will O'Neill, Sr. (Maine)
Spencer Abbott, Sr. (Maine)
Joey Diamond, Jr. (Maine)
Brian Flynn, Sr. (Maine)
Chris Kreider, Jr. (BC)
Alex Killorn, Sr. (Harvard)
Brian O'Neill, Sr. (Yale)
2011-12 New England Hockey Awards

Clark Hodder Award – Division I Coach of the Year
Norm Bazin (UMass Lowell)
Leonard Fowle Award – Most Valuable Player
Spencer Abbott, Sr., F (Maine)
George C. Carens Award – Rookie of the Year
Scott Wilson, Fr., F (UMass Lowell)
Herb Gallagher Award – Best Forward
Spencer Abbott, Sr., F (Maine)
Bob Monahan Award – Best Defenseman
Brian Dumoulin. Jr., D (Boston College)
Paul Hines Award – Most Improved Player
Doug Carr, So., G (UMass Lowell)
Frank Jones Award – Best Defensive Forward
Chris Connolly, Sr., F (Boston University)
Joe Tomasello Award - Unsung Hero Award
Bobby Farnham , Sr., F (Brown)
Parker/York Award – Contribution to New England Hockey
John 'Jocko' Connolly (The Boston Herald)