Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Team Awards Handed Out at Banquet

Team Awards Handed Out at Banquet

Class of 2012 Honored


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Widdy's Grill Room at the Course at Yale was filled with student-athletes, alumni and fans who came to honor the men's hockey team's class of 2012, watch seven team awards get presented, and hear from the outgoing captain and the new one. That's what happens at the annual team banquet hosted by the Yale Hockey Association.


Association president Daryl Jones '98, an All-ECAC defenseman and a member of Yale's 1997-98 conference championship team, gave a welcoming address and then took part in the presentation of the team awards along with former U.S. Olympian and National Hockey League star Bob Brooke '83 and former Yale player and association president Paul Farren '66.


The seven seniors, who were given their home white jerseys and large framed photo montages, were introduced and also had a chance to say a few words, honor some staff members and take a few fun parting jabs.


Brian O'Neill, captain of the 2011-12 team, returned from playing in the AHL Calder Cup Playoffs (Manchester) to take part in the festivities. He addressed the crowd and introduced Andrew Miller '13 as his replacement.


Here are the seven team awards, the descriptions, the presenter and the recipients:



Yale Hockey Awards


Martin Dwyer III Award- Presented by the YHA to the most outstanding first-year player of the Yale hockey team. (Daryl Jones '98 presenting) – D, Tommy Fallen '15


John Poinier Award- Presented by the YHA to the best defensive player on the Yale hockey team. (Paul Farren '66 presenting) – D, Gus Young '14


Yale Hockey Coaches Award- Presented to that member of the Yale Hockey team whose determination and desire have contributed most to team morale and the spirit of hockey at Yale. (Keith Allain '80 presenting) – F, Jesse Root '14


David C. Noyes III Award- Presented by the YHA to that member of the Yale hockey team whose performance and attitude has most inspired his teammates through determination, grit and courage. (Daryl Jones '98 presenting) – F, Chad Ziegler '12


J. Murray Murdoch Award- Presented by the YHA to that member of the Yale hockey team deemed the most valuable player. (Paul Farren '66 presenting) – F, Brian O'Neill '12


Edward M. Wright, M.D. Award- For athletic and academic accomplishments, leadership and dedication to the higher purposes of intercollegiate athletics. This award is based equally on two factors: success on the ice and success in the classroom. (Bob Brooke '83 presenting) – F, Charles Brockett '12


Malcom G. Chace Award- Presented by the YHA to that member of the Yale hockey team who, through sportsmanship, spirit, and ability, has best served the finest traditions of Yale hockey as exemplified by Malcom G. Chace. (Bob Brooke '83 presenting) – Antoine Laganiere '13


Image of Brian O'Neill, Director of Equipment Services Jeff Torre, Charles Brockett and Nick Jaskowiak by James Barone.