2014 NCAA Men's East Regional Awarded to Bridgeport

2014 NCAA Men's East Regional Awarded to Bridgeport

Yale, Fairfield Hosting Regional For 4th Time

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA announced today that Fairfield and Yale will host the 2014 NCAA Men's Hockey East Regional at Bridgeport's Webster Bank Arena, the fourth such event awarded to the two Connecticut Division I Universities. The Stags and Bulldogs co-hosted the 2009, 2011 and 2012 regional tournaments.


Yale, Michigan, Air Force and eventual champion Vermont competed in the 2009 regional that drew a Harbor Yard record 8,478 fans on both nights. The Bulldogs, who lost to the Frozen Four bound Catamounts, returned to the 2010 NCAA Northeast Regional at Worcester, Mass., and beat North Dakota before falling to eventual national champion Boston College.


The Elis also competed in the 2011 tournament, beating Air Force in overtime and then falling to eventual national champion Minnesota Duluth before another packed arena. The 2012 field included Michigan State, Miami, Union and UMass-Lowell.


Pat Murphy and Wayne Dean, senior associate athletics directors at Fairfield and Yale respectively, will serve as co-tournament directors at the arena for the fourth time in 2014.


Fairfield and Yale had plenty of NCAA hosting experience before partnering in 2009. The Stags have hosted the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship on three occasions at Harbor Yard, including the Bridgeport Regional in 2006.


Yale, co-hosts with the ECAC for the 2004 NCAA Women's Frozen Four at Providence, has also run NCAA championships for baseball, fencing, volleyball, men's golf, men's and women's soccer and men's and women's lacrosse. 


The 2012 East Regional will be played on March 28-29, with each of the four participating teams having an open practice on March 27.  The regional winner earns a trip to the Frozen Four at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pa.