Allain a Finalist for Penrose Award

Keith Allain. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Keith Allain. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Yale Hockey Mentor Up For National Honor

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Keith Allain '80, Yale's Malcolm G. Chace Head Coach of Hockey, has been named one of the seven finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the top coach in Division I men's hockey.

Allain, preparing his Bulldog team for its first national semifinal in 61 years, was named national coach of the year by in 2008-09. His Yale squad faces another Penrose Award finalist, UMass Lowell's Norm Bazin, in this Thursday's 4:30 p.m. Frozen Four Semifinal at Pittsburgh's Consol Energy Center.

Allain brings a 136-84-19 (7 years) record into the Frozen Four. His squads have made the NCAA Tournament in four of the last five seasons, including three regional finals.

Tim Taylor, who coached at Yale from 1976 to 2006 and mentored Allain as both a player and coach, is the only Bulldog head coach to win the Penrose Award. Taylor earned the honor in 1997-98.

Here are the seven finalists for the 2012-13 award:

• Keith Allain, Yale (Frozen Four coach, won West Regional)
• Norm Bazin, UML (Hockey East coach of the year, Frozen Four coach, Won NE Regional)

• Enrico Blasi, Miami (CCHA coach of the year)
• Dave Burkholder, Niagara (Atlantic Hockey coach of the year)
• Mike Hastings, Minnesota State (WCHA coach of the year)
• Bob Motzko, St. Cloud State (Frozen Four coach)
• Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac (ECAC Hockey coach of the year, Frozen Four coach)