Four Bulldogs Earn All-Ivy Honors

Four Bulldogs Earn All-Ivy Honors

March 5, 2009

Four Bulldogs have been named to the 2008-09 All-Ivy Team. Junior Connecticut natives and forwards Sean Backman (Cos Cob) and Mark Arcobello (Milford) were first team, while goalie Alec Richards (Robbinsdale, Minn.) was a second-team pick and defenseman Tom Dignard (Reading, Mass.) was honorable mention. Three of them received post-season honors of any type for the first time.

Yale (20-7-2), which won the outright Ivy League Championship with a 9-1 record, is ninth in the current Pairwise Rankings and hosts a March 13-15 ECAC Hockey Playoff Quarterfinal series at Ingalls Rink.

Backman, Yale's only first-team All-Ivy pick last year, leads the Elis with 16 goals and is second with 28 points. He is the only current Bulldog who has garnered any type of post-season honor.

Arcobello, who has a team-high 32 points, is second with 15 goals. He was ECAC Hockey Player of the Week after tallying five points in a pair of games to close out the regular season.

Richards, Yale's first All-Ivy goalie since Trevor Hanger was honorable mention in 1999-2000, has 15 of the 20 wins and carries a 2.12 goals against average.

Dignard, arguably the top all-around player at Yale, earned distinction despite playing just 21 games this winter. He suffered a season-ending injury on Jan. 31 and finished with five goals and 17 points.

The last time Yale had four players earn Ancient Eight honors was in 2000-01 with Jeff Hamilton, Ben Stafford, Nick Deschenes and Jeff Dwyer.


First Team All-Ivy

F -- *Colin Greening, Cornell (Jr., St. John's, Newfoundland)

F -- Scott Fleming, Dartmouth (So., Plainfield, Ont.)

F -- Mark Arcobello, Yale (Jr., Milford, Conn.)

F -- Sean Backman, Yale (Jr., Cos Cob, Conn.)

D -- Brendon Nash, Cornell (Jr., Kamloops, B.C.)

D -- Jody Pederson, Princeton (Jr., Smithers, B.C.)

G -- Zane Kalemba, Princeton (Jr., Saddle Brook, N.J.)

Second Team All-Ivy

F -- Matt Vokes, Brown (Sr., Auburn, Mass.)

F -- Blake Gallagher, Cornell (Jr., Dartmouth, N.S.)

F -- Doug Rogers, Harvard (Jr., Watertown, Mass.)

F -- Brett Wilson, Princeton (Sr., Calgary, Alb.)

D -- Jeff Buvinow, Brown (Fr., Turnersville, N.J.)

D -- Alex Biega, Harvard (Jr., Montreal, Que.)

G -- Alec Richards, Yale (Sr., Robbinsdale, Minn.)

Honorable Mention

F -- Riley Nash, Cornell (So., Kamloops, B.C.)

F -- Doug Jones, Dartmouth (Fr., Marietta, Ga.)

D -- Evan Stephens, Dartmouth (So., Bessember, Mich.)

D -- Tom Dignard, Yale (Jr., Reading, Mass.)

G -- Ben Scrivens, Cornell (Jr., Spruce Grove, Alb.)

G -- Jody O'Neil, Dartmouth (Fr., Nepean, Ont.)

Player of the Year

Zane Kalemba, G, Princeton (Jr., Saddle Brook, N.J.)

Rookie of the Year

Jody O'Neil, G, Dartmouth (Fr., Nepean, Ont.)

release filed by Steve Conn, Yale Associate AD & Sports Publicity Director