2010 Yale Team Awards Handed Out

Brendan Gibson (Dave Burbank)

Brendan Gibson Named Team MVP

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- The Yale men's lacrosse team announced its 2010 team awards today, and five different Bulldogs earned one of the eight year-end honors primarily named after former players. Captain Brendan Gibson was named the winner of the L.C. Stowell Award as the team's most valuable player.

Gibson, who had 18 goals and 35 points this year, finished with 95 goals, which is fourth on the school's career list. His 141 collegiate points are seventh at Yale. The senior also took home the Donald J. Reape Memorial Award for character, spirit, dedication, hard work and enthusiasm.
Senior midfielder Nick Tsouris and freshman midfielder Michael McCormack were the other two-award winners.

Here are the eight Yale post-season awards and this year's recipients.

DAN CASMAN AWARD: Awarded to the underclassman who has contributed most to team spirit and morale.... Michael McCormack '13

WALTER T. COLLINS AWARD '23: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best offensive lacrosse player of the season.... Matt Gibson '12

RICHARD CORRIGAN AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the varsity lacrosse team who has shown the most improvement over the course of one season...  Eric Gresham '11

DONALD J. REAPE MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually by Donald J. Reape to that upperclassman who best exemplifies the character, spirit, dedication, hard work, and enthusiasm that his son Don gave to Yale Lacrosse.... Brendan Gibson '10

WINTHROP A. SMITH AWARD: Presented by DeForest W. Smith '61, Winthrop S. Smith '59, and Donford M. Smith - Middlebury '60 to that member of the lacrosse team whose superior conditioning and team play has served as an inspiration to his teammates.... Nick Tsouris '10

L. C. STOWELL AWARD: Presented annually to the most valuable player on the varsity squad.... Brendan Gibson '10

CHRISTIAN PRINCE MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best defensive lacrosse player of the season.... Nick Tsouris '10

ROBERT G. MERRICK MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to player who has the most ground balls.... Michael McCormack '13


filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director

View: Mobile | Desktop