Falcone Named Team MVP

Johnathan Falcone. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Johnathan Falcone. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Bulldogs Receive Team Awards

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale men's lacrosse team, coming off a 10-4 season and a second straight Ivy League Tournament appearance, announced its 2011 team awards with eight different Bulldogs earning one of the year-end honors primarily named after former players. Senior goalie Johnathan Falcone was named the winner of the L.C. Stowell Award as the team's most valuable player.

Falcone, who ranks seventh in Division I with a 7.30 goals against average and is 14th in save percentage (.559), was in net for every decision this season. He is eighth on the Yale career save chart with 360.


The Bulldog netminder, also the team defensive player of the year (Christian Prince Award), is a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, which will be handed out on May 28 at the Division I Championships.


The offensive MVP, the Walter T. Collins '23 Award, stayed in the family this spring. A year after his brother, Brendan Gibson '10, earned the honor, junior Matt Gibson overcame an early injury to score 20 goals and record 36 points in 12 games.


Cole Yeager, a sophomore midfielder, ranked fifth in the nation with a .648 face-off percentage this spring. He also led the team with 75 ground balls which earned him the Robert G. Merrick Memorial Trophy.


Two juniors and a senior shared the Winthrop A. Smith Award for conditioning, team play and inspiration. Jack Flaherty '11, Gregory Mahony and Michael Pratt, all of whom made significant contributions to Yale's second straight 10-win campaign, combined for a rare three-way tie.


Here are the eight Yale post-season awards and this year's recipients.

DAN CASMAN AWARD: Awarded to the underclassman who has contributed most to team spirit and morale.... Jackson Logie '14

WALTER T. COLLINS '23 AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best offensive lacrosse player of the season. Matt Gibson '12

RICHARD CORRIGAN AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the varsity lacrosse team who has shown the most improvement over the course of one season...  Jack Flaherty '11

DONALD J. REAPE MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually by Donald J. Reape to that upperclassman who best exemplifies the character, spirit, dedication, hard work, and enthusiasm that his son Don gave to Yale Lacrosse.... Chad Costello '11

WINTHROP A. SMITH AWARD: Presented by DeForest W. Smith '61, Winthrop S. Smith '59, and Donford M. Smith - Middlebury '60 to that member of the lacrosse team whose superior conditioning and team play has served as an inspiration to his teammates.... Michael Pratt '12, Jack Flaherty '11, Greg Mahony '12

L. C. STOWELL AWARD: Presented annually to the most valuable player on the varsity squad.... Johnathan Falcone '11

CHRISTIAN PRINCE MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best defensive lacrosse player of the season.... Johnathan Falcone '11

ROBERT G. MERRICK MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to player who has the most ground balls.... Cole Yeager '13


filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director