2012 Team Awards Named

2012 Team Awards Named

Pratt, Gibson Earn Two Each

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Less than 24 hours after returning from Notre Dame and the first round NCAA Tournament game, the No. 11 ranked Yale men's lacrosse team was busy handing out 2012 honors.

A pair of seniors, Michael Pratt (Garden City, N.Y.) and Matt Gibson (Point Lookout, N.Y.), had their names called twice for season awards, including repeat honors from 2011.

Pratt, the captain who led the Blue to an 11-5 mark and an Ivy League Tournament title, won the Winthrop Smith Award for "conditioning" and the Donald J. Reape Memorial Award for "character, dedication and hard work." The Yale midfielder had 52 ground balls and seven goals.

Gibson, an attackman likely to earn his third straight All-America honor this season, earned team MVP honors (L.C. Stowell Award) while being named the top offensive player (Walter T. Collins '23 Award) as well. He led the Bulldogs with 61 points and 33 assists. Eight of those helpers came in the Ivy Tournament semifinal win over Cornell on May 4, which tied the school record.

Junior attackman Deron Dempster (Orangeville, Ont.), who led the team with 37 goals after netting 13 last spring, was the clear-cut choice for Richard Corrigan Award as the most improved player. He also led the Blue with four tallies in the NCAA loss at Notre Dame on May 13, while his eight scores against Cornell in the Ivy Tournament were third all-time at Yale.

Dempster and the Bulldogs won nine straight games (second-longest streak ever) and breezed through the Ivy Tournament with wins over the Big Red and Princeton to earn their first NCAA berth in 20 years.

The defensive MVP honor went to junior Peter Johnson (Minnetonka, Minn.), who compiled 50 ground balls and 29 caused turnovers in 16 games.

Dylan Levings (Massapequa, N.Y.), who won better than 63 percent of his face-offs and will finish among the top five in Division I this year, easily took the Robert G. Merrick Memorial Trophy for the player on the team with the most (106) ground balls.


Here are the eight Yale post-season awards and this year's recipients.

DAN CASMAN AWARD: Awarded to the underclassman who has contributed most to team spirit and morale.... *Jackson Logie '14, James Tjarksen '15

WALTER T. COLLINS '23 AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best offensive lacrosse player of the season. *Matt Gibson '12

RICHARD CORRIGAN - RICHARD W. PERSHING AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the varsity lacrosse team who has shown the most improvement over the course of one season... Deron Dempster '13

DONALD J. REAPE MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually by Donald J. Reape to that upperclassman who best exemplifies the character, spirit, dedication, hard work, and enthusiasm that his son Don gave to Yale Lacrosse.... Michael Pratt '12

WINTHROP A. SMITH AWARD: Presented by DeForest W. Smith '61, Winthrop S. Smith '59, and Donford M. Smith - Middlebury '60 to that member of the lacrosse team whose superior conditioning and team play has served as an inspiration to his teammates.... *Michael Pratt '12

L. C. STOWELL AWARD: Presented annually to the most valuable player on the varsity squad.... Matt Gibson '12

CHRISTIAN PRINCE MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best defensive lacrosse player of the season... Peter Johnson '13

ROBERT G. MERRICK MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to player who has the most ground balls.... Dylan Levings '14

*repeat recipient from 2011


filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director