Bulldogs Preparing For 2009 Season

Bulldogs Preparing For 2009 Season

Feb. 3, 2009

The 2009 Yale Men's Lacrosse Team promises to be an interesting one. The Bulldogs return 16 of 24 lettermen, including captain Matt Aronson, and have a talented corps of newcomers to add to the mix. Here is a position-by-position analysis of the 2009 Elis.


Junior Brendan Gibson (23-9-32) headlines this year's attack unit as the leading goal scorer from 2008. Senior Francis Johnson (4-1-5) should also play a key role. Sophomore Brian Douglas (3-2-5), senior Colin Ford (5-2-7), freshman Matt Gibson (Chaminade) and sophomore Jack Flaherty (0-1-1) should also make an impact this spring. Also expect sophomore Lucas Aronson and newcomer Ben Gifford (Thomas Worthington) to challenge for playing time up front.


Senior Michael Karwoski (11-4-15), a 2007 first-team All-New England and honorable mention All-Ivy selection, could be a dynamic leader for the Bulldogs this season. Bryce Pyle (2-1-3), a senior, also has the skills to make an impact. Seniors Michael Barry (1-1-2), James Ryan (1-1-2) and junior Matt Fuchs (6-5-11) all look to build on the roles they played last season. Juniors Nick Tsouris (1-1-2) and Jerome Arnold (5-2-7), along with newcomers Matt Miller (St. Albans) and Greg Mahoney (Mercer Island - Wash.) will all compete for playing time. Freshmen Mark Dobrosky (Mountain Lakes), Colin Still (William Penn) and Mike Pratt (Chaminade) could also break into the lineup.


The Bulldogs hope to continue their recent tradition (Dan Kallaugher, Gregory DuBoff) of excellence on face-offs. Senior Kevin Discepolo, who backed up DuBoff last year and had just six draws, looks to follow his predecessors into the top of the national charts. Junior Max Rodman competes with the upperclassman for draw time in 2009.


Senior Gabe Nadel (9 games) headlines this year's defensive midfielders as the most seasoned Bulldog. Sophomore Alfonso Costa and newcomer Robby Berner (Brunswick) add to the unit.


Sophomore Pat Coleman leads a formidable group of LSM along with classmate Chad Costello and newcomer CJ Uy (Sidwell Friends), who will also battle for playing time.


Senior captain Matt Aronson (26 GB), along with classmates Will Gano (14) and Mark Schlam (20), take some of the most important leadership duties into 2009. Senior Devon Kelley, sophomore Alex Forrey (9) and junior Trent Gause look to make steady contributions as well. Sophomore Steve McLachlan hopes to challenge for a defensive role along with newcomer Michael Sweeney (Mt. Sinai) and sophomore Nicholas Leppla (Lick-Wilmerding - Calif.).


A new era in the Yale net begins this spring with the graduation of George Carafides '08, who started every game the last four years. Sophomore Johnathan Falcone and newcomer Andy Brown (Kinnelon) form a healthy competition for the starting job that will likely be decided after the last scrimmage.