Bulldogs Hand Out Team Awards

May 11, 2009

New Yale men's lacrosse captain Brendan Gibson was named 2009 team most valuable player, a.k.a. the L.C. Stowell Award, this past weekend. That was one of eight Yale awards handed out at the end of the year team gathering.

Gibson, a senior attackman who was second on the 2009 team with 23 goals and 35 points, is a two-time honorable mention All-Ivy pick.

Senior defenseman Will Gano earned the Christian Prince Memorial Award as the top defensive player among the Bulldogs, while classmate Michael Karwoski (midfielder) was Yale's offensive MVP.

Here are all the 2009 Yale team awards and recipients.

2009 Yale Team Awards

DAN CASMAN AWARD: Awarded to the underclassman who has contributed most to team spirit and morale.... Michael Pratt '12 (Garden City, NY)

WALTER T. COLLINS AWARD '23: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best offensive lacrosse player of the season.... Michael Karwoski '09 (Greenlawn, NY)

RICHARD CORRIGAN AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the varsity lacrosse team who has shown the most improvement over the course of one season... Nicholas Leppla '11 (San Francisco, Calif.)

DONALD J. REAPE MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually by Donald J. Reape to that upperclassman who best exemplifies the character, spirit, dedication, hard work, and enthusiasm that his son Don gave to Yale Lacrosse.... Kevin Discepolo '09 (Merrick, NY)

WINTHROP A. SMITH AWARD: Presented by DeForest W. Smith '61, Winthrop S. Smith '59, and Donford M. Smith - Middlebury '60 to that member of the lacrosse team whose superior conditioning and team play has served as an inspiration to his teammates.... Mark Schlam '09 (Lexington, Mass.)

L. C. STOWELL AWARD: Presented annually to the most valuable player on the varsity squad.... Brendan Gibson '09 (Pt. Lookout, NY)

CHRISTIAN PRINCE MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best defensive lacrosse player of the season.... Will Gano '09 (Summit, NJ)

ROBERT G. MERRICK MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to player who has the most ground balls.... Kevin Discepolo '09 (Merrick, NY)

View: Mobile | Desktop