Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Andy Shorten Elected 2010 Yale Men’s Soccer Captain

Andy Shorten (photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)
Andy Shorten (photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)

Four Other Players Honored At Team Banquet

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Andy Shorten, who finished third on the team in scoring this fall, has been elected captain of the 2010 Yale men's soccer team. The announcement was made Wednesday night at the annual postseason banquet following a team vote.

"It is a great honor," said Shorten, a junior midfielder from Hudson, Ohio. "To be elected by my teammates and to follow in the footsteps of so many great captains of the past is both humbling and exciting. As captain, I hope to work closely with my teammates and coaches to create the strongest team possible when we kick off our season next fall."

Shorten appeared in 16 games this fall and had two goals and three assists. Against SMU, he scored and added an assist, and he also had a goal in Yale's 4-3 victory over Cornell. In his career, he has played in 42 games.

"I am delighted for Andy to be named 2010 soccer captain," said Yale head coach Brian Tompkins. "He exudes passion and commitment on and off the playing field, and his personality and spirit have made him universally well-liked and respected. I have every confidence that he will be an outstanding leader and continue the tradition of excellence set by his predecessors as we prepare for the challenges ahead in the 2010 season."

Shorten will be one of six seniors on next year's team.

"Our class is filled with leaders," Shorten said. "We all have different qualities, but collectively we all want the same thing - to win. There is no doubt in my mind that leading our team to victory will be a collective effort."

In addition to the captain announcement, five team awards were presented. Senior goalkeeper Travis Chulick was the recipient of the Walter J. McNerney Award as the team's most valuable player and the Jack Marshall Award, which is given by the Yale Soccer Association to the member of the team who demonstrated the qualities of team spirit, loyalty to his fellow players and dedication to the game.

Chulick, a Camp Hill, Pa., native, earned second team All-Ivy recognition after starting all but one game and posting a 1.57 goals against average with a .698 save percentage. In his last two years, Chulick played 3,093 out of a possible 3,183 minutes in goal.

The Walter Leemann Trophy, awarded to that senior member of the varsity team who, by sportsmanship and team play, upholds the ideals of former Yale coach Walter Leemann, was presented to Jordan Raybould. Raybould, the team captain this fall, started 58 games in his career.

Sophomore Chris Dennen received the Frank Dunne Award as Yale's most improved player. Dennen started 15 games this fall after starting four in his rookie year. He scored the game-winning goal in the Bulldogs' victory over Cornell.

Sebastian Serra, who appeared in 11 games, was the recipient of the Bob "Doc" Holliday Award, which is presented to the squad member who regardless of playing opportunity or personal recognition has consistently demonstrated a selfless commitment, a positive attitude and has contributed to team spirit in ways that have improved the well-being of the Yale soccer program.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity