Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Team Awards Announced At Post Season Banquet

The award winners
The award winners

Nine Seniors Recognized

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's soccer team recently gathered one final time for its annual banquet to celebrate a very successful 2018 season.

The Bulldogs continue to make steady progress under the leadership of Kylie Stannard, Yale's 5K Corral Head Coach. The team posted its first winning overall record since 2011, and its overall record has improved in every season since Stannard's arrival in 2015.

In addition to handing out five team awards, Yale's nine seniors were recognized. Nicky DownsKyle KenagyLucas KirbyJames KochanskiAn LeRobert MooneyKees SchipperAllec Willis, and Cameron Riach were outstanding representatives of Yale and the men's soccer program over the last four years.

"It was great to bring together the 2018 team (YMS Team 111) together one more time to reflect on the past season but also celebrate our seniors for all their hard work and commitment to improving the program," Stannard said. "This was the first group that I coached for all four seasons and they are a special group that helped build a great foundation.  It's also nice to have this event with certain awards that recognize some players that don't necessarily make the headlines but that do so many important things behind the scenes.  We appreciate them all very much."

The following awards were presented:

BOB HOLLIDAY AWARD: This award is given annually to the "unsung hero" as selected by the coaching staff.

Recipients:  Allec Willis & Will Emerson

FRANK DUNNE AWARD: This award is given annually to the most improved player as selected by the coaching staff.

Recipients:  Andrew Sady-Kennedy & Jeremy Haddock

JACK MARSHALL AWARD: (1967) Awarded by the Yale Soccer Association in honor of the former Yale coach (1946-65), to the member of the team who demonstrates the qualities of team spirit, loyalty to his fellow players, and dedication to the game.

Recipients:  Kyle Kenagy & Andrew Bortey

WALTER LEEMAN TROPHY: (1952) Awarded annually in memory of Walter Leeman, Yale Soccer Coach 1923-49, to that senior member of the varsity team who, by sportsmanship and team play, upholds the ideals of Walter Leeman.

Recipients:  Cameron Riach & Lucas Kirby

WALTER J. MCNERNEY VARSITY MVP AWARD: This award is given annually to the most valuable player as selected by the coaching staff.

Recipient:  Nicky Downs

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity