Bulldogs Fall 1-0 To Sacred Heart In Yale Classic

Bulldogs Fall 1-0 To Sacred Heart In Yale Classic

Sept. 9, 2007

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Ricarti Mendes scored the only goal of the game at 23:59 as Sacred Heart edged the Bulldogs 1-0 in the final game of the Yale Classic on a hot and humid afternoon at Reese Stadium. Lusiano Dadario served the ball from the left wing to Mendes, who headed it over Yale goalkeeper Erik Geiger from right in front.

Matt Jones made three saves to post the shutout in goal for the Pioneers.

Yale's best scoring chance came early in the first half. Liam Leonard maneuvered around a Sacred Heart defender along the left side and fired a shot that got past Jones but deflected off the left post.

The Bulldogs (0-2) also had a number of good opportunities off corner kicks, but couldn't get anything past Jones, who made his best save of the day when he dove to his right to stop an Eric Meyer header off a corner kick midway through the first half.

"We did well off the corner kicks, but we never really got into a rhythm on offense," said Yale head coach Brian Tompkins. "We weren't able to create enough offensive chances in the flow of play."

Yale outshot the Pioneers 6-4 in the first half, but Sacred Heart had a 9-4 advantage in the second 45 minutes.

"Fatigue may have taken its toll," Tompkins said. "We had a number of rookies who were playing their second game of a weekend."

Leonard and Alex Guzinski were named to the all-tournament team for the Bulldogs.

Mendes, Anthony Anzevui and Jesper Fredriksson earned all-tournament recognition for the Pioneers (2-2).

Yale will have nearly a week to prepare for its next game at Fairfield on Saturday at 7 p.m.

"We learned in these first two games that we have talent," Tompkins said. "It just has to be deployed a little differently, and that is the responsibility of the coaches."

In the first game of the day, Northwestern and Dartmouth played a scoreless tie. Both teams went 1-0-1 in the tournament, but Northwestern captured the tournament title by virtue of goals scored (3-2 over Dartmouth). The Wildcats beat Yale 3-1 on Friday, while the Big Green blanked Sacred Heart 2-0.

Eamon O'Neill, who scored and added an assist in the win over Yale, was named the tournament most valuable player. Misha Rosenthal, David Roth and Matt Witt were named to the all-tournament team.

Earning all-tournament honors for Dartmouth were Craig Henderson, Tom Lobben and Ale Frischeisen.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity