Erik Geiger Elected 2007 Captain

Erik Geiger Elected 2007 Captain

Dec. 7, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Erik Geiger, who started 14 games in goal this season, has been elected captain of the 2007 Yale men's soccer team. The announcement was made at Tuesday's annual post-season banquet following a team vote.

"Being elected captain is certainly an honor, especially at Yale which has such a storied athletic tradition," said Geiger, a Chatham, N.J., native. "In my time here I've played under some great captains - Ryan Raybould, Shannon Brooks and most recently Jordan Rieger. They've left great examples for me to follow, and I'll do my best in the position to help the team prepare for and enjoy a successful season next year. Fortunately my job won't be too difficult because of the talented senior class I will be a part of. We'll all be effective in leading a young team with a lot of potential."

As a junior, Geiger posted a pair of shutouts, including making five saves in a 1-0 victory over a Brown team that went on to the NCAA College Cup. He also blanked Marist in the season opener and made a season-high eight saves against Cornell. Geiger finished the year with a 1.51 goals against average and a .727 save percentage. As a sophomore, he earned honorable mention All-Ivy recognition after finishing fourth in the league in goals against average (0.94), fifth in saves (57) and sixth in save percentage (.803).

"Erik possesses a tremendous drive in everything he does, and he cares passionately about Yale soccer," said Head Coach Brian Tompkins. "He will be a great example and leader for our team as they prepare for the 2007 season."

Five awards were also presented at the banquet. Senior James Stewart was the recipient of the Walter J. McNerney Trophy as the team's most valuable player and the Jack Marshall Award, which is presented by the Yale Soccer Association to the player who demonstrates the qualities of team spirit, loyalty to his fellow players and dedication to the game. Stewart, who tied for the team lead in goals with five, was a first team All-Ivy selection.

The Frank Dunne Award, which is given to player who, in the judgment of the coaches, exhibited the greatest improvement during the season, was presented to sophomore Alex Afsahi. After not appearing in a game as a freshman, Afsahi played in nine games in 2006 and scored the only goal of the game in a 1-0 victory over Albany.

Senior Josh Block was the recipient of the Bob "Doc" Holliday Award, which is given to the player who, regardless of playing opportunity or personal recognition, has consistently demonstrated a selfless commitment, a positive attitude and has contributed to team spirit in ways that have improved the well being of the Yale Soccer Program. Block appeared in 11 games and assisted on Stewart's game-winning goal in overtime against Columbia.

Jake Miller was the recipient of the Walter Leeman Trophy, awarded to the senior who by sportsmanship and team play upholds the ideals of former Yale coach Walter Leeman. Miller was one of only three players to start all 17 games and was a second team All-Ivy selection.

The 2006 Bulldogs finished the season with a 7-9-1 overall record.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity