Jordan Rieger Elected 2006 Captain

Jordan Rieger Elected 2006 Captain

Dec. 8, 2005

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Jordan Rieger, an honorable mention All-Ivy selection this fall, has been elected captain of the 2006 Bulldogs. The announcement was made at the team banquet on Dec. 6, following a team vote.

Rieger started 17 games at midfield and tied for second on the team in assists with three. His long pass led to Gage Hills' winning goal in the 1-0 victory over Princeton that helped earn Yale a share of the Ivy League title in the regular season finale.

"Jordan is a terrific example of the benefits of hard work, enthusiasm and dedication," said Yale head coach Brian Tompkins. "He has the maturity and smarts to be an outstanding captain and I fully expect him to lead the team with distinction."

Five awards were presented at the banquet as well. Senior Stephen Cockrell was the recipient of the Jack Marshall Award (most dedicated) and the Bob Holliday Award (unsung hero). The Walter Leeman Trophy (senior leadership) was presented to Shannon Brooks and the Walter McNerney Trophy (most valuable) went to junior Jake Miller. Sophomore goalkeeper Erik Geiger was the recipient of the Frank Dunne Award (most improved).

2005 was a memorable season for the Bulldogs, who shared the Ivy League title with Brown and Dartmouth and received an at-large berth to the NCAA College Cup.

"The 2005 team distinguished itself with its hard work and its ability to take nothing for granted," Tompkins said. "Their commitment to a team-first philosophy made them close-knit and hard to beat. Those qualities proved invaluable when the going got tough, and they were rewarded with an Ivy title and an NCAA tournament appearance."

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity