Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Swim and Dive Celebrates Season

Men's Swim and Dive Celebrates Season

NEW HAVEN, Conn.- The Yale men's swimming and diving team held its year-end banquet at Yale Commons on Wednesday Apr. 16. The team's graduating seniors gave farewell speeches, and annual awards were bestowed on several swimmers. 

Junior Rob Harder won the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award, which is given for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming. The prize was donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905. Harder broke the team record in the 200-yard backstroke against Harvard and Princeton on Jan. 31. 

Junior Andrew Heymann won three awards at the banquet. He first received the M. Davies Award for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming. The prize was donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. Heymann, who holds team records in the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke, has won the M. Davies Award in each of his three seasons with the team.

Heymann shared the Tim Jecko Award with junior Alwin Firmansyah. The Tim Jecko Award is given to a member of the men's team and the women's team for outstanding performances in the individual medley. Jecko, a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team, won many national championships and held many records in freestyle, butterfly and the individual medley. The award was established in 2004 in honor of Jecko by the class of 1959, of which Jecko was a member. Firmansyah holds the team record in the 200-yard IM .
Heymann also won the Heaton High Point Award, which is given to a swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. Heymann scored 188.5 points in dual meets during the 2013-2014 season.
Senior Calvin Jones received the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy, given to the member of the team who "through his efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish '18." Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35 established the award in 1936 in memory of MacLeish, who was killed in World War I.  
Sophomore Brian Hogan won the Harry Burke Award, given to the outstanding underclassman swimmer on the team. The Yale Swimming Association established the award in 1966. Hogan received first team All-Ivy honors and competed at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.
Senior diver Tyler Pramer won the William Leeming Jelliffe Award, which recognizes the senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in ability and outstanding leadership during his college years. In his career, Pramer scored the most championship points of any diver in the Ivy League's Class of 2014.
Senior Pat Killian won the Phil Moriarty Prize  awarded to an upperclassman "who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by his dedication and personal achievement." The award was established by the Yale Swimming Association in 1969 in honor of Moriarty, a former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach.
Sue and Dan McDermott, the parents of Yale senior Danny McDermott, received the Robert J. H. Kiphuth award for "outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program." The award was established in 2004 by the Yale Swimming Asociation.
Tim Wise, the Robert J. H. Kiphuth Director of Men's Swimming and Diving, said that the banquet is a great way to reflect on the past season and thank the seniors for their contributions to Yale Swimming and Diving.
"While we will miss the seniors' daily presence we move forward, confident that they have left the program in a better place than they found it," Wise said.
The men's swimming and diving senior class of 2014 includes captain Ed Becker, Danny Clarke, Paschall DavisCole Florey, Jones, Killian, McDermott and Pramer.
-Report by Josh Mandell '16