Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Hand Out Awards at Annual Banquet

Bulldogs Hand Out Awards at Annual Banquet

April 9, 2008

New Haven, CT - The Yale men's swimming and diving team celebrated the 2007-08 season with its annual awards banquet Tuesday April 8. The Bulldogs also recognized nine new records that were set this year.

Senior Jeffrey Lichtenstein, junior Alex Righi, sophomore Thomas Robinson, and sophomore Craig Steen all won multiple awards during the banquet.

Righi and Lichtenstein shared the Heaton High Point Award, given to the swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season.

Lichtenstein also won the William Leeming Jelliffe Award. This award is given annually to "that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during his college years." The prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Senior Reid Madden won the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. Established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel `35S, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish, 1918 who was killed in World War I, this trophy is awarded to "that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through his or her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish."

Robinson took home the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award, donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, Class of 1905. Robinson also shared the Harry Burke Award with Steen. The Harry Burke Award honors Yale's retired former freshman swim coach Harry Burke and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen. Robinson also won this award last year.

Steen also won the M. Davies Award. This prize was donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. It is awarded each year for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.

Righi also won the Phil Moriarty Prize. This award honors former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Phil Moriarty. It was established in 1969 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that upper-class member of the team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by his dedication and personal achievement."

Senior Billy Rubenstein won the Tim Jecko Award. This trophy is given annually for outstanding performances in individual medley. Tim Jecko was a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team. He won many national championships and held many records at Yale in freestyle, butterfly and individual medley. The award was established in 2004 by Tim's classmates of the Yale Class of 1959.

Finally, senior Brendan Woo was presented with the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award. This award honors the former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program."

Record Recognition (9)
50 Freestyle Alex Righi 19.08
100 Freestyle Alex Righi 41.94
100 Butterfly Chris Pool 48.35
200 Butterfly Chris Pool 1:46.80
200 Freestyle Relay Alex Righi 1:20.17
Chris Pool
Tyler Scheid
Ege Gurdeniz
200 Medley Relay Alex Righi 1:29.17
Matt Sweitzer
Chris Pool
Ege Gurdeniz
400 Medley Relay Thomas Robinson 3:16.90
Matt Sweitzer
Chris Pool
Alex Righi
1 Meter Diving Jeffrey Lichtenstein 359.00
3 Meter Diving Jeffrey Lichtenstein 389.62

Report Filed by Steven Horn '10, Yale Sports Publicity