Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Men's Swimming and Diving Awards Announced

Yale Men's Swimming and Diving  Awards Announced

April 14, 2004

Head Coach Frank Keefe announced the Yale Swimming and Diving major awards for the recently concluded 2003-2004 season at the Annual April Awards Banquet. Eight Bulldog swimmers were honored.

The first recognitions of the evening were for the two new Yale men's swimming records set this past winter by three seniors and one sophomore. Senior Jimmy Veazey (Hamden, CT), who broke his own record from 2002-2003 in the 200 Butterfly with a time of 1:49.12, was honored for his efforts. The 400 Medley Relay team of Alex Nash, Tom Hardy, Jack Cooney, and Jimmy Veazey, who turned in a time of 3:19.30, were also recognized.

Senior Jack Cooney (Palm Beach, FL) was also awarded the Heaton High Point Award that is awarded to that swimmer who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season.

Jimmy Veazey was honored yet again as the recipient of the William Leeming Jelliffe Award. This award is given annually to "that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during his college years." The prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Senior Matt Bowman (Bloomfield Hills, MI) was awarded the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. Established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish, 1918 who was killed in World War I, this trophy is awarded to "that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through his or her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish."

Both Senior Captain Alex Nash (Los Angeles, CA) and Jack Cooney were recognized for their outstanding backstroke efforts this past season. They were both awarded the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award, donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905.

The other stroke award of the evening was given to Tom Hardy (Mason City, IA). Tom won the M. Davies Award. This prize was donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. It is awarded each year for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.

Freshman Andrew Foss (Fairfax St., VA ) received the Harry Burke Award. Established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association, this award honors Yale's retired former freshman swim coach Harry Burke and is "awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen".

Senior Matt Aldrich (Tucson, AZ ) was awarded the Phil Moriarty Prize. This award honors former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Phil Moriarty. It was established in 1969 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that upperclassmember of the Men's Varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by his dedication and personal achievement". The presentation of the prize was made that much more special by the presence of Coach Moriarty.

The highlight of the evening came on the final award of the evening, when the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award was given to another former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Phil Moriarty. The award itself honors the former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program."