Bulldogs Hold Awards Banquet

Bulldogs Hold Awards Banquet

April 29, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale men's swimming and diving team handed out its annual awards during its end of year banquet on April 11. Awards were presented to the biggest contributors to the men's team over the course of its 2005-06 season.

The first award handed out was the Heaton High Point Award, given to that swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. It was awarded to sophomore diver Jeffrey Lichtenstein, who represented Yale at the NCAA Diving Regionals this spring and also set a new Yale record for the 3 meter dive.

Next, Mike Slater was awarded the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. Established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish, 1918 who was killed in World War I, this trophy is awarded to "that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through his or her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish." Slater was a major contributor for the Bulldogs this season, winning the 200-yard breaststroke in a dual meet victory over Brown. Slater capped off his season with an impressive win in the 400 IM at the ECAC Championships.

The next swimmer to be honored was Yale's standout freshman Alex Righi. Righi was first awarded the Harry Burke Award, honoring Yale's retired former freshman swim coach Harry Burke and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen". Later in the banquet, Righi was also awarded the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award, donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905. Righi's dominant season included two EISL wins, three Yale records, and two top-20 finishes at the NCAA Championships.

Distance freestyle swimmer Andrew Foss was awarded the Phil Moriarty Prize. This award honors former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Phil Moriarty. It was established in 1969 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that upper-class member of the team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by his dedication and personal achievement." Foss was one of Yale's strongest swimmers at this year's EISL Championships, recording two top-five finishes.

Senior Kieran Locke was honored next. Locke received the William Leeming Jelliffe Award. This award is given annually to "that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during his college years." The prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Two swimmers, Colin O'Brady and Colin Stalnecker, shared the M. Davies Award. This prize was donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. It is awarded each year for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming. Next was the Tim Jecko Award, given to Dennen McCloskey. This trophy is given annually for outstanding performances in individual medley. Tim Jecko was a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team. He won many national championships and held many records at Yale in freestyle, butterfly and individual medley. The award was established in 2004 by Tim's classmates of the Yale Class of 1959.

Finally, the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award was presented to John Lapides '72. This award honors the former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program."

Report filed by Jamie Cordes '07, Yale Sports Publicity